Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
2. Create a specific statement of exactly the kind of data you need.
3. Identify Data Sources Locate Government Agencies, Organizations and Honnold Library or Claremont Colleges commercial subscriptions.
4. Review Literature Search the major bibliographic databases in your field.
5. Restricted Data: Some data supplied by data archives such as ICPSR contain restricted data. This data requires special security to insure protection of confidential material.
If you identify restricted data that you wish to request; you can't find what you need; or to o recommend data for purchase please contact email@example.com for help.
What is data? How does it relate to statistics?
The term data refers to qualitative or quantitative attributes of a variable or set of variables. Data (plural of "datum") are typically the results of measurements and can be the basis of graphs, images, or observations of a set of variables. Data are often viewed as the lowest level of abstraction from which information and then knowledge are derived. Raw data, i.e. unprocessed data, refers to a collection of numbers, characters, images or other outputs from devices that collect information to convert physical quantities into symbols. Statistics is the study of the collection, organization, and interpretation of data. It deals with all aspects of this, including the planning of data collection in terms of the design of surveys and experiments.
The OECD Glossary of Statistical Terms contains a comprehensive set of definitions of the main data items collected by the Organisation. The Glossary also contains definitions of key terminology and concepts and commonly used acronyms.
Books, dictionaries, encyclopedia, video, journal articles, cases, and datasets on research methods to help you learn and conduct projects.
Define Unit and Geographic Level of Analysis; Frequency & Time
Unit of coverage
Institutional Level: company, health facility, school
Production Level: automobiles, commodities
Local: city agencies National: federal agencies, research centers International: international organizations Note: Not all data is available at the geographic level you need. Some data is only available at the state or county level.
Annual Quarterly Monthly Daily? Note: Some frequencies may need to be calculated.
Series of measurements over regular intervals of time
Cross sectional: collected at the same point of time for several individuals.
Longitudinal/Panel: data collected at a sequence of time points for each of a sample of individuals.
Time Series: data collected at a sequence of time points, usually at a uniform frequency.
Pooled cross sectional time series: mixture of time series data and cross-section data