Skip to main content
Important Coronavirus (COVID-19) Update: Library building CLOSED until further notice.
See COVID-19 (novel coronavirus) Updates and Resources

Library Databases, A-Z

Find the best library databases for your research. Choose by subject, format, or vendor/provider.

Loading...

New & Trial Databases

Loading...
Databases we've recently or acquired or that we have temporary "trial" access to in order to evaluate
Trial
A portal of 20 databases developed by China Knowledge CNKI(China National Knowledge Network 中國知網), covering academic books, journals, master thesis, doctoral dissertations, conference proceedings, core newspapers, statistical yearbooks, data analysis, and population census. Full text search, browsing, download and print. May 22 - September 30, 2020.
Trial
The archives are categorized into 13 genres: contracts, account books, tax and corvée, administration, litigation, letters, daily books, reference books, family etiquettes, religion, genealogy, dramas, education and examination, and medicine. June 22 - September 30, 2020.
New
A database for researching Latin culturally, historically, and linguistically through a collection of ancient and modern Latin dictionaries and lexicographical tools. Currently searches twenty dictionaries with at least one dictionary added annually.
Trial
Consists of 10 sub-databases covering Chinese and Japanese historical, political, economic, religious, philosophic, literary, ethnic and geographic documents, such as Daozang 道藏, Daozang jiyao 道藏辑要, Sibu congkan 四部叢刊, Yongle dadian 永樂大典, Gujin tushu jicheng 古今圖書集成, Siku quanshu 四庫全書, and more. Full text searchable across databases. May 18 - September 30, 2020.
New
: An online version of the paper volumes, the Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources gives cultural, historical, and linguistic context to medieval Latin using British Sources from the 6th to the 16th centuries.
New
Open access digital collection offering 850 journals and over 350,000 articles in the social sciences and humanities from Latin America.
New
Manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, census reports, letters photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and other primary sources relevant to the study of Indigenous people from North America (most from the areas of Canada and the United States) from the mid-seventeenth century through the late twentieth century.
New
Digital archive (1913-1940) of the English newspaper published in Japan. Includes news articles, stories , and advertising that introduces Japanese culture, and reflects the social and economic climate of those times. Full image/full text searchable.
Trial
Archive of 85 periodicals published in Taiwan during the period of Japanese colonial occupation (1895-1945). June 17 - September 30, 2020.
Trial
Digitized contents from the comprehensive collections of the National Library of China. Contains over 200 titles (more than 900,000 pages) of major Chinese national and local newspapers published between 1840 and 1949. May 13 - September 30, 2020.
New
Digital repository offering free access to more than 100,000 texts covering the social sciences from the CLACSO (Consejo Latinoamericano de Ciencias Sociales) network.
Trial
Full texts of travel and journal records of Korean delegations to Beijing during the Ming and Qing dynasty (14th-late 19th century). May 21 - September 30, 2020.
Trial
Full-text database of over 200 Korean magazines currently published in South Korea. Back issues of most titles are available for the past 2-3 years. Artcile level full text browsable and searchable. Covered subjects include Current issues & Economy; Computer & Internet; Science & Technology; Culture & Arts; Education & Literature; Fashion & Life style; Travel & Sports. June 2 - September 30, 2020.
New
Supplementary collection of popular and academic e-book and audiobook titles across a wide variety of subjects. This collection is not intended to be comprehensive or to replace the full suite of e-books and audiobooks provided by public libraries. If you do not see a title of interest try using your local public library (LA County, San Bernardino County)

See OverDrive help for support. Libby is a free app for borrowing e-books and digital audio books. Visit Libby help.
New
Covers a range of data science methods, the issues and challenges of using big data and digital methods, and the intersection of computer science and the social sciences.
Trial
25,000 photos from 1895 to 1945 enriched with geographic data. Also include full texts of books in history and geography, and government publications. June 17 - September 30, 2020.
Trial
Newspaper published in Taiwan during the Japanese colonial era. Includes the different incarnations of the newspaper, 台灣青年,台灣民報, and 台灣新民報. The database allows browsing by issue and searching for article titles, authors and keywords. June 17 - September 30, 2020.
Trial
101 titles of Guanzhen 官箴 (books of government administration and statecraft from Tang Dynasty to Republican Period in China (7th to mind-20th century). May 21 - September 30, 2020.
New
The Western Water Archives (WWA) offers digital primary sources from the water archives of 7 partner institutions; the bulk of which focus on Southern California and include blueprints, correspondence, ephemera, ledgers, legal papers, maps, pamphlets, photographs, plans, reports, scrapbooks, and technical documents.
New
Archival content of social, political, and professional aspects of women's lives, looking at the roles, experiences, and achievements of women in society from the 19th to 20th centuries.
Trial
Contains Chinese archival documents at local levels from Wanli period of Ming dynasty1573-1620) to the Republic era (1911-1949). Includes land contracts, account books, administration records, tax and litigation documents, personal correspondence, daily accounts, family etiquettes, religion, genealogy, and reference tools for daily life and civil service examination. Full text searchable by resource categories, dynastical periods, household regions, and family names. May 13 - September 30, 2020.
Trial
Stele inscriptions from antiquity to end of Qing dynasty. May 21 - September 30, 2020.
Trial
Contains more than 1,300 facsimiles Chinese rare books covering the Tang, Song, Yuan, Ming, and Qing periods. These books were selected by experts from the unique editions and manuscripts housed in more than 50 domestic and overseas institutions including the National Library of China, Shanghai Library, Peking University Library, and the British Library. High-resolution color images very close to the original, including the specific details of the edition. The collection is organized chronologically into five divisions by dynastic sequence, from Tang to Qing dynasties. Each division is classified per the four-fold classifications of Jing Shi Zi Ji 經史子集. May 13 - September 30, 2020.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...