Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
A data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences.
Some content requires username/password. Note: Create an individual user account at the log in site
Having trouble downloading data or accessing other ICPSR resources? Try these things first (instructions below):
1. Open a new private or "incognito" browser window and copy/paste this address into the search bar: https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/. Retry your login.
2. Reset your password
3. Connect to your institution's VPN, if available
Resetting Your Password: Visit the Password Reset Request page, or email ICPSR Web Support at email@example.com
Typically, ICPSR will automatically recognize your institution and validate your account. If you're trying to download data and receive an unexpected alert that you're not from a member institution, even though you are, your account may need to be validated. We can update this manually.
To request a validation, send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org. Include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.
VPN Does your institution use a VPN (Virtual Private Network internet connection)? Each VPN is configured differently, but for most institutions, you can use your VPN to access your ICPSR account.
1. Log into your VPN using the instructions provided by your institution
2. Open a browser window and navigate to icpsr.umich.edu
3. Click "log in" on the top right
Your library or IT team may have additional information available, please contact them for VPN assistance.
Note: For English interface of the database, click on “China Data Insights” on the top right of the database homepage.
Excluding the General Survey (综合), the Claremont Colleges affiliated users have access to data of all subject categories in the database, 1949 to 2022, including national accounting; fixed assets investment; population and human resources; people’s living conditions and price indices; enterprises and institutions; finance; natural resources; energy and environment; political and public administration; peasants & agriculture & rural area; industry; construction; transportation and telecommunication; domestic trade and foreign trade; tourism/catering; education and technology; culture and sports; public health. Includes data analysis by time series, industry fields, and geographical regions. Datatype includes statistical yearbooks, analysis reports, investigation data, statistical summaries, and compilations. Data downloadable in Excel and PDF. Year coverage: 1949-2022.
The GHO data repository provides access to over 50 datasets on priority health topicsincluding mortality and burden of diseases, the Millennium Development Goals (child nutrition, child health, maternal and reproductive health,
Includes multiple databases: International Financial Statistics; Government Finance Statistics; Balance of Trade Statistics; and balance of payment statistics. Data from 1948 - present for some data points.