Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
Data for market research is gathered through both primary and secondary research.
Primary data: is based on research that you conduct yourself using tools such as surveys, polls, focus groups, and interviews. Primary research is used to address a specific problem. While primary data can be more thorough and insightful, it is costly and time consuming to collect such data and conducting such research requires special skills.
Secondary data: is based on research done by others, such as government agencies, market research firms, and trade associations. Examples of secondary sources include statistics and market research reports. These sources can save you a lot of time but as you have no control over how and what pieces of data were collected, they may not always be specific enough for your needs.
This guide focuses on secondary sources available at the Claremont Colleges Library. It also identifies free websites with useful information.
Selective access to full text, 12 month embargoed reports on products and industries worldwide; business services; consumer goods; demographics; food & beverage; heavy industry; life sciences; public sector; and technology and media. We do not have access to all segments of the database.
Industry Surveys and Stock Reports, including stock and debt ratings, financials, beta, bond issues, competitors, and industry position. Industry Surveys have 1 year rolling date coverage - current. Financial data dating from 1900 - present.
Directory, company history, and financial data for companies and industries. Some limited data on private companies. Not all functionality available, such as downloading large numbers of companies to create lists.
Thomson Eikon is a financial database with company and market information for companies worldwide. It requires a username and password that can be obtained by contacting Mary Martin: email@example.com.
It offers almost all the same financial information service, including company data, market data, news, country and economic data, analytics and trading tools. It includes Datastream with Worldscope. Datastream contains historical, global coverage of equities, Indices, stock markets, derivatives, commodities, futures, currencies, options, bond markets, exchange rates, company financials, and economic data. The database is updated daily, and historical equity information goes back as far as 1973, though coverage varies across countries and types of content. There are two interfaces: Web Access (using the login) and a download option for the Excel addin. The Excel addin allows one to access the data through Excel, and to create templates with more detail than Thomson One allows.
What is the difference? These are different interfaces, and the Thomson Eikon can be accessed using browsers other than Internet Explorer. In addition, some features have not migrated to Thomson Eikon as of May 2017.
U.S. and global data and metrics parsed by demographic and socio-economic group
Provides access to data from the Gallup opinion poll. Gallup Poll results, analysis, and videos are published daily in the form of data-driven news. The poll surveys a sample of residents in the U.S. and worldwide, reporting on a series of Core Questions and in some cases, additional questions. Data is customizable and downloadable. Some U. S. data from 1939 and International data from 2007.
Repository of over 35 billion datapoints from over 450 databases sourced from 70 public and private organizations. Searchable by keyword, subject and source. The datasets permit correlation of multiple, diverse indicators, with tools to interpret and visualize the data. Data available from 1948 - present.