Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
Citing your sources is important for giving credit to the work of others and avoiding plagiarism.
In the world of academia (and beyond), proper attribution of sources also demonstrates how you are engaging and adding to the existing body of knowledge. By citing your sources, you are entering into the scholarly conversation.
Questions or concerns about citations? Please contact your course librarian , or your campus Writing Center.
Use Zotero to Cite Your Sources
Citation Managers are tools to help you keep track of your citations as you research and to create/format your citations and bibliography. For example, Zotero allows you to keep citations, full text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. You can also use these tools to format your bibliographies and the notes/citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).
Zotero is a free open source application that works with Firefox, Chrome, and Safari, you can also download a client to your computer. It is a good choice if you use just one computer when researching. You can access citation information when online or offline.
(17th edition) Includes 2 basic documentation systems: the humanities style (notes and bibliography) and the author-date style. This online version is searchable (by word, phrase, or paragraph #), making it easy to find answers to style and editing questions. Also includes a Citation Quick Guide.