Skip to Main Content

PIT SPAN 33 - Intermediate Spanish - Prof. Brizuela - SP24

This guide is designed to help you find and use resources to complete your Spanish 33 traditions assignment.

Part 2

For part 2, use the recommended databases and tips in the sections below to search for and find scholarly articles, book chapters, books, and more in Spanish to inform your research and write about chosen tradition.

Example search:

  • Database: HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index
    • An advanced search for "Maya" and "traje" returns several results. You can also limit to Spanish language articles.
    • A few relevant article results include: "Identidad y trajes mayas" and Ts’akiel: Vestidos rituales, prácticas de transfiguración y temporalidades superpuestas en la fiesta del k’in tajimol."

Screenshot of advanced search in HAPI database

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you find a resource that the Library does not have, you can request the item from your Resource Sharing account. If you see a resource that you would like to recommend the Library purchase, complete the Suggest a Library Purchase form or email me.

Library Search

Library Search is a great starting place for your research. It's the main search field in the middle of the Library homepage. You can use this to search The Claremont Colleges Library collections, other campus collections and libraries worldwide.

Use Library Search to find print books, eBooks, articles, newspaper resources, tangible media (CDs/DVDs), streaming media, objects available in tech lending, special collections holdings and more!

If an item shows as "Held by Other Libraries" you may request the item through resource sharing by clicking on the "Get This Item" button. 

 

Use Library Search

Recommended Databases

Use the following databases to find scholarly articles and more for your research.

Multidisciplinary Databases

Google Scholar

Tip:

Google Scholar is a great tool to "listen in" to the scholarly conversation. You can implement citation chaining to see who a particular author is in conversation with (or who they are citing in their work) and also see who has since joined the conversation (or who has cited the author's work), working backwards and forwards in time.