PIT SPAN 33 - Intermediate Spanish - Prof. Brizuela - FA24

Esta obra tiene la particularidad de instruirnos sobre el sentido y la importancia que tienen una gran variedad de fiestas que se celebran en el mundo hispánico desde tiempos remotos. Fiestas que se inscriben en el mundo religioso, civil y social, con sus interpretaciones y significaciones más esenciales. Una guía entretenida que nos deleita con tipos de celebraciones como cumpleaños, casamientos, aniversarios, santos, espirituales, entres otras. Con énfasis en México, Puerto Rico y Cuba. Un libro que en detalle describe con acierto cada fiesta bajo un contexto histórico determinado y ciertas tradiciones populares definidas. Además plantea el sentido de estos eventos y el impacto de ellos en la población latina que vive en Estados Unidos, como una forma de no perder su identidad cultural y nacional por estar muy lejos de su tierra natal. No podía faltar una lista de recetas culinarias propias con sabor hispánico inconfundible.

Papers from the Coloquio Fiesta y Ritual en la Tradición Popular Latinoamericana, held October 28-29, 2015, at the Colegio de México.

This book explores the people of South America, Central America, Mexico, and the West Indies and provides extensive detail on their diverse cultures. An authoritative overview of the varied and rich traditions of each of these regions is presented along with a thorough discussion of the religions, languages, and ethnicities of Latin Americans.

Veinticinco estudiosos de las tradiciones populares, nacionales e internacionales, escriben sobre los géneros que estudian en el ámbito de las tradiciones hispánicas: danzas teatralizadas de la Conquista y de la Colonia; romances y corridos; lírica tradicional y popular; décimas y glosas. Entretejiendo este mosaico de lenguajes y tradiciones de Hispanoamérica y España, surgen los rituales festivos que movilizan la tradición; la música que pone en acto la palabra; la mutua fertilización de lo "culto" y de lo "popular"; la interrelación de lo oral y lo escrito; la tensión creativa entre tradición y originalidad, y las voces de dos creadores y guías culturales.

Este libro reúne quince trabajos realizados por distintos conocedores que se han acercado a los mundos de creación de los pueblos indígenas americanos. Todas estas aproximaciones nos permiten percibir las diversas relaciones existentes entre seres naturales, humanos y sobrenaturales a través de las acciones de creación y las creaciones indígenas.

A guide to understanding Cuban society, religion, customs, media, cinema, literature, performing arts, and art.

This volume includes chapters on the land, its history, and people; religions; social customs; media and film; literature; performing arts; architecture, art, sculpture, and photography.

Having always been under the watchful eyes of other colonies and countries, Puerto Rico's own customs and traditions have managed to flourish throughout the ages, culturally uniting what is a politically divided island. In addition to gaining an understanding of Puerto Rico's political relationship with the continental United States, students can explore extensive narrative chapters that cover contemporary religion, cuisine, sports, media, cinema, literature, performing arts, and visual arts.

The volume begins with a discussion of how the country is unique in Latin America, including its incredible biodiversity, ethnic makeup, history, education policies, and women's roles. A chapter on religion covers indigenous faiths and focuses on the predominant Catholicism. Costa Rican social customs such as national traits, cuisine, family roles, and sports are presented engagingly.

El Salvador, the smallest Hispanic country in the Western Hemisphere, has had a lion's share of international attention with its civil war of the 1980s. This volume presents an intriguing narrative overview of a country with an embattled history, from wars to devastating earthquakes. Readers will find a sympathetic portrayal of the land, history, people, economy, religion, education, traditional culture and popular entertainment, literature, media, and the arts.

Students and other interested readers will come to understand how the traditions and reforms are shaping Guatemala in the 21-first century. After an overview of Guatemalan history, geography, and demographics, a chapter on religion reveals the prevalent mixture of Catholic/Spanish and indigenous influences. In the Social Customs chapter, customs and festivals, many related to Catholic saints' days, the importance of Mayan weaving, and Guatemalan cuisine are emphasized.

Key elements of the work include a look at national identity and cultural diversity, as well as an in-depth study of indigenous Honduras. Other chapters examine religion, as well as daily routines, cuisine, dress, media, sports, festivals, literature and oral storytelling, traditional crafts, visual arts, and music and dance.

Introduces readers to Nicaragua's vibrant culture, which reflects its people's strong Catholic devotion, diverse indigenous roots, and enthusiasm for life in the face of extreme poverty.

Engagingly written, this comprehensive volume gives readers an overview of contemporary life in Panama-what religions are practiced, what the cuisine is consumed on a day-to-day basis, and what people wear in urban and rural settings, among many other topics. Modern literature, media outlets, gender issues, education, visual arts, and performing arts are also covered.

Mexico, with some 90 million people, holds a special place in Latin America. It is a large, complex hybrid, a bridge between North and South America, between the ancient and the modern, and between the developed and the developing worlds. Mexico's importance to the United States cannot be overstated. The two countries share historical, economic, and cultural bonds that continue to evolve. This book offers students and general readers a deeper understanding of Mexico's dynamism: its wealth of history, institutions, religion, cultural output, leisure, and social customs.

Chile is a land of contrast and surprise, flanked by the Pacific Ocean on the west, the Andes to the east, the forbidding salt basins of the Atacama Desert to the north--with a verdant Central Valley and Cape Horn at its southern extremity. The Chilean people, too, are surprising: on one hand reserved, family-oriented, Catholic, and conservative; and on the other fun-loving, entrepreneurial, neoliberal, and modern.

Argentina, one of the most dynamic societies in Latin America, is known for its impressive level of cultural production. This examination of the social and cultural institutions of Argentine society contains a series of comprehensive and informative essays that focus on the most important forms of cultural production in terms of major works, major artists, and major venues. Students and interested readers will discover what is unique about Argentina's culture and customs in this thorough and engaging overview.

The first half of this text is dedicated to how and where people live--detailed geography, social traditions, religious practices, political institutions, and Bolivian cuisine and culture. The varied religious and linguistic traditions of the indigenous groups that comprise the majority of the national population are also described, giving readers a deeper appreciation for the diversity of Bolivia's character.

Chile's natural beauty, fascinating history, cultural traditions, and warm people are uniquely evoked in "Culture and Customs of Chile." Chilean American Castillo-Feliú effectively conveys how Chile's geography has helped to shape it into a modern, socially responsible model in Latin America. Readers will learn how this small country has contributed to the hemisphere's stature, from a stable political scene to seafood-inspired cuisine. Chile's lively history forms the backdrop for a survey of a wealth of social riches.

The authors highlight the most notable aspects of contemporary Colombian culture including coffee production, Nobel Laureate Gabriel García Márquez, painter Fernando Botero, vallenato music, and the notorious drug cartels. Colombia is one of the most diverse, regionalistic, and tradition-bound nations in Latin America. Culture and Customs of Colombia offers a thorough examination of those features of national life that make Colombia unique.

Celebrates the extraordinary cultural, geographic, and ethnic diversity that has made this small country one of Latin America's most unique. Through this overview of its history, religious institutions, literature, social customs, cinema, media, and visual and performing arts, Ecuador emerges as a vibrant microcosm of Latin America. Readers will learn how Ecuadorian society blends pre-Colombian, colonial, modern, and postmodern cultural forces.

Ferreira and Dargent, native Peruvians, illustrate how the diverse geography of the country--the Andes, coast, and jungle--has also had a role in shaping cultural and social expression, from history to art. Further exploring the influence of Spanish colonialism and its modern blending with Indian traditions, this volume covers the legacy of the Incas and Machu Picchu, providing an authoritative overview of how the citizenry and major cultural venues, such as the church, media, and arts, have evolved.

This work successfully portrays the country's cultural richness and diversity. Influences from the United States are inescapable, especially in Caracas, but many distinctive traditions are continued throughout the country, varying from region to region. Religious rituals and numerous festivals that take place in towns and villages and the vibrant music scene, all major expressions of the nation's social and cultural life, are just some of the highlights found herein.

El folclor logo Orestes Plath nos invita a sumergirnos en la sabidur a del pueblo chileno a trav s de un recorrido por personajes populares, habla popular, leyendas, tradiciones, refranes, adivinanzas, fiestas criollas y diversas expresiones del folclor infantil, religioso y musical. la obra, que en palabras del autor "es una 'ordenada' de material literario popular buscado y compilado en el pa s, comparado y acompa ado de una bibliograf a que ha servido Para las confrontaciones", es presentada en su decimoquinta edici n, corregida y anotada.

This culture report for Paraguay will get up to speed on all aspects of culture in Paraguay, including lifecycle, religion, women, superstitions & folklore, sports, holidays & festivals, and etiquette.

This culture report for Uruguay will get up to speed on all aspects of culture in Uruguay, including lifecycle, religion, women, superstitions & folklore, sports, holidays & festivals, and etiquette.

Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.

This three-volume encyclopedia features over 4,000 entries on more than 40 regions in Latin America and the Caribbean from 1920 to the present day.