Research Guides: Pandemics &amp; Epidemics: A Topic &amp; Resource Guide: Databases for Further Research

As you may have noticed, this guide is focused on presenting books and eBooks on topics relevant to pandemics and epidemics. This page provides a list of recommended databases and research guides for finding articles and other sources on the topics presented in this guide.

History Databases

Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Useful for anthropological and historical research concerning the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books
Coverage dates: 1914-present
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Scholarship (articles, books, proceedings, dissertations an book reviews) about the history of science, technology, and medicine. Limited simultaneous users
Covers scientific developments from prehistory to the present across scientific disciplines such as biology, computer science, engineering, geography, mathematics, neuroscience, pharmacy, physics, psychiatry, and public health.
Language: English, Italian, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Polish, etc.

Science Databases

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover biomedical and life sciences research using this search tool run by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, clinical trials, meta-anlayses, systematic reviews, books
Includes advanced search tools such as Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and the Clinical Queries feature. Personalized MyNCBI account features, such as email alerts, are only available by leaving the Library's instance of PubMed and accessing the resource through the open web site (pubmed.gov).
Language: English
Keywords: Pub Med
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great for discovering scholarly research across a wide array of subject areas, primarily published in high-impact (highly cited) journals in the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, book chapters
Coverage dates: 1965-present
Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge

Sociology and Psychology

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover scholarly articles and research in psychology and behavioral and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, books
Coverage dates: 1600s-present
One great feature is the ability to limit by methodology.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
Keywords: APA Psyc Info
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for sociology with international coverage of the social and behavioral sciences.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, books, trade journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses
Coverage dates: 1952-present
Language: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German

Current Events, Newspapers & Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
Content type: Newspaper articles, trade journal articles, broadcast transcripts, financial reports, federal and state case law, medical abstracts, corporate profiles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Language: English, Spanish, French, Dutch, German, Portuguese
Keywords: Lexis Nexis

Research Guides

These guides are a way to find further databases and to connect with our subject librarians