"Zika virus is shown in cross section at center left. On the outside, it includes envelope protein (red) and membrane protein (magenta) embedded in a lipid membrane (light purple). Inside, the RNA genome (yellow) is associated with capsid proteins (orange). The viruses are shown interacting with receptors on the cell surface (green) and are surrounded by blood plasma molecules at the top. Transmission of Zika virus is primarily through the bite of an infected Aedes species mosquito. Zika is generally asymptomatic, although some infected individuals may develop symptoms such as fever, rash, joint and muscle pain and conjunctivitis. It is possible for maternal-fetal transmission to occur, which can cause microcephaly and other severe brain defects in the developing fetus."
--Wellcome Collection, https://wellcomecollection.org/works/qxner3j4, Accessed April 6th, 2021, Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0),https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/
Dengue and Severe Dengue
Dengue is a mosquito-borne viral infection that is common in warm, tropical climates. Infection is caused by any one of four closely related dengue viruses (called serotypes) and these can lead to a wide spectrum of symptoms, including some which are extremely mild (unnoticeable) to those that may require medical intervention and hospitalization. In severe cases, fatalities can occur. There is no treatment for the infection itself but the symptoms that a patient experiences can be managed....Earlier this year, WHO listed dengue as a potential threat among ten diseases for 2019 and current outbreaks in many countries confirm this observation. Dengue epidemics tend to have seasonal patterns, with transmission often peaking during and after rainy seasons.
---World Heath Organization, https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/dengue-and-severe-dengue accessed April 24, 2023
ZIKA Virus Disease
Zika virus is primarily transmitted by the bite of an infected mosquito from the Aedes genus, mainly Aedes aegypti, in tropical and subtropical regions. Aedes mosquitoes usually bite during the day, peaking during early morning and late afternoon/evening. This is the same mosquito that transmits dengue, chikungunya and yellow fever...Zika virus is also transmitted from mother to fetus during pregnancy, through sexual contact, transfusion of blood and blood products, and organ transplantation...In October 2015, Brazil reported an association between Zika virus infection and microcephaly. Outbreaks and evidence of transmission soon appeared throughout the Americas, Africa, and other regions of the world. To date, a total of 86 countries and territories have reported evidence of mosquito-transmitted Zika infection....No vaccine is yet available for the prevention or treatment of Zika virus infection. Development of a Zika vaccine remains an active area of research
---World Heath Organization, https://www.who.int/news-room/fact-sheets/detail/zika-virus, accessed April 24, 2023
Dengue Virus Disease : from origin to outbreak by
Dengue Virus Disease: From Origin to Outbreak provides a detailed accounting of one of the world's fastest growing infections. According to the World Health Organization, Dengue virus incidence has increased 30-fold over the past 50 years, with up to 50 to 100 million infections occurring annually in over 100 endemic countries. This estimate puts nearly half the world's population at risk. This book reviews the history, clinical and diagnostic aspects of dengue virus, also presenting our current knowledge on the pathophysiology of severe dengue and addressing the importance of dengue virus infections in those traveling to parts of the world where it is endemic. Covers every important aspect of Dengue virus disease, from biological, to its social and economic impacts Highlights the unique aspects of Dengue virus infection and the evolving nature of our understanding of the virus Provides a complete description of Dengue virus disease, with details on more recent outbreaks, clinical features, first hand experiences, treatment modalities, and recent novel treatment regimens Gives insights into the detailed psychological impact the disease has caused in outbreak regions
Dengue and Zika: Control and Antiviral Treatment Strategies by
This contributed volume contains 25 chapters from leading international scientists working on dengue and Zika viruses, who came together in Praia do Tofo in Mozambique to discuss the latest developments in the fields of epidemiology, pathogenesis, structural virology, immunology, antiviral drug discovery and development, vaccine efficacy, and mosquito control programs. The meeting venue offered an opportunity to discuss current research on these flaviviruses in an idyllic setting, and also to develop first-hand appreciation of the issues in infectious diseases facing developing countries and of the research gaps in Africa. For readers, who should include basic and clinical researchers in the field and public health professionals, the chapters are organized to provide a comprehensive overview of the various topics in current dengue and Zika virus research. A unique feature of the proceedings of this meeting is the inclusion of the discussions that took place following presentations. These have been transcribed and appended to the end of the relevant chapters, and they form the "salt in the soup" of this book.
Dengue Virus by
Scientific research on dengue has a long and rich history. The literature has been touched by famous names in medicine- Benjamin Rush, Walter Reed, and Albert Sabin, to name a very few- and has been fertile ground for medical historians . The advances made in those early investigations are all the more remarkable for the limited tools available at the time. The demonstration of a viral etiology for dengue fever, the recognition of mosquitoes as the vector for transmission to humans, and the existence of multiple viral variants (serotypes) with only partial cross-protection were all accomplished prior to the ability to culture and characterize the etiologic agent. Research on dengue in this period was typically driven by circumstances. Epidemics of dengue created public health crises, although these were relatively short-lived in any one location, as the population of susceptible individuals quickly shrank. Military considerations became as a major driving force for research. With the introduction of large numbers of non-immune individuals into endemic areas, dengue could cripple military readiness, taking more soldiers out of action than hostile fire. Dengue and dengue hemorrhagic fever, which assumed pandemic proportions during the latter half of the last century, have shown no indication of slowing their growth during this first decade of the twenty-first century. Challenges remain in understanding the basic mechanisms of viral replication and disease pathogenesis, in clinical management of patients, and in control of dengue viral transmission. Nevertheless, new tools and insights have led to major recent scientific advances. As the first candidate vaccines enter large-scale efficacy trials, there is reason to hope that we may soon "turn the corner" on this disease.
Genetic Control of Malaria and Dengue by
Genetic Control of Malaria and Dengue focuses on the knowledge, technology, regulation and ethics of using genetically modified mosquitoes to interrupt the transmission of important vector-borne diseases including Malaria. It contains coverage of the current state of knowledge of vector-borne diseases and how they are currently controlled; vaccine, drug and insecticide development; various strategies for altering the genome of mosquitoes in beneficial ways; and the regulatory, ethical and social environment concerning these strategies. For more than five decades, the prospect of using genetically-modified mosquitoes to control vector-borne disease transmission has been a purely hypothetical scenario. We simply did not have the technology or basic knowledge to be able to do it. With the explosion of field trials and potential interventions in development, Genetic Control of Malaria and Dengue provides a comprehensive overview of research in genetics, microbiology, virology, and ecology involved in the development and implementation of genetic modification programs for virus and disease control. This book is meant to provide a practical guide to researchers, regulators and the general public about how this technology actually works, how it can be improved, and what is still unknown.
Locating Zika: social change and governance in an age of mosquito pandemics by
The emergence of Zika virus in 2015 challenged conventional ideas of mosquito-borne diseases, tested the resilience of health systems and embedded itself within local sociocultural worlds, with major implications for environmental, sexual, reproductive and paediatric health. This book explores this complex viral epidemic and situates it within its broader social, epidemiological and historical context in Latin America and the Caribbean. The chapters include a diverse set of case studies from scholars and health practitioners working across the region, from Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador, Mexico, Colombia, the United States and Haiti. The book explores how mosquito-borne disease epidemics (not only Zika but also chikungunya, dengue and malaria) intersect with social change and health governance. By doing so, the authors reflect on the ways in which situated knowledge and social science approaches can contribute to more effective health policy and practice for mosquito-borne disease threats in a changing world. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.tandfebooks.com , has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
Zika Virus Disease: prevention and cure by
The author was motivated to write this important book because currently there is no systematically-written document on the ZIKV disease, which could serve at this crucial moment as a textbook for medical students, physicians, nurses, and other healthcare providers as well as a reference book for basic researchers, professors, and the general public. The original concept of ZIKV-Charnolopathy due to compromised mitochondrial bioenergetics in highly vulnerable (neural progenitor cells, spermatocytes, oocytes etc.) cells and its amelioration by physiological and/or pharmacological interventions is based on years of research experience. This book describes unique organ and disease-specific Charnoly body (CB) inhibitors, charnolophagy inducers, CB sequestration inhibitors, and chanolophagosome stabilizers as promising charnolopharmacotherapeutics. They are meant to aid in the prevention and treatment of the ZIKV-linked diversified spectrum of neurodevelopmental anomalies (embryopathies) in newborn infants and Guillain Barre' Syndrome (GBS) in adults. Clinical management of ZIKV-induced GBS employing IV immunoglobulin and plasmapheresis (plasma exchange) is also described.
Zika Virus Disease: from origin to outbreak by
Zika Virus provides an authoritative account of one of most fascinating viruses of the 21st century, covering all the main points. It includes coverage of clinical manifestations, such as fever and fatigue, but also delves into neurological manifestations like acute demyelinating neuropathy. In addition, the book discusses new evidence that suggests that Zika fever in pregnant women can cause abnormal brain development in fetuses by mother-to-child transmission. The Zika virus infection has become one of the first where women are actively discouraged from getting pregnant. Readers will find this book to be a comprehensive resource on the topic. Covers every important aspect of the Zika virus disease, from biological, to social and economic impacts Focuses on women's health issues that have surfaced, including birth defects in newborns Written in an easy to comprehend manner, with technical terms clearly defined in chapters that highlight genetics
Zika Virus and Diseases: from molecular biology to epidemiology by
Compiles the most current information on the Zika virus and its associated diseases This comprehensive book provides the most up-to-date information for students, medical students, and scientists on Zika virus and its associated diseases. It includes all the information related to the Zika virus since its discovery in 1947; its epidemic outbreak in 2007-2014; how the epidemiology changed in America in 2015-2016; its mode of transmission; how to prevent and treat it; and associated diseases. Zika Virus and Diseases: From Molecular Biology to Epidemiology offers complete and up-to-date coverage in 10 chapters. It presents information from papers that attempted to associate the virus with diseases in Africa until the first animal experiment; discusses its association with Guillain-Barré syndrome and microcephaly; describes the basic mechanisms for Zika (ZIKV) replication, including important differences between Dengue (DENV), West-Nile virus (WNV), and ZIKV; explains the difference between the strains and discusses the pathogenesis of them; covers the papers that showed all the interferences that Zika can cause, and the pathways which can be modified; and more. The first book since 1947 to put together all the scientific information Compiles all the information received in the last year about Zika virus Clearly demonstrates the origin and discovery of the virus Zika Virus and Diseases: From Molecular Biology to Epidemiology will appeal to graduate students, medical students, basic researchers, clinicians in infectious disease, microbiology, and virology, as well as people in related disciplines interested in learning more about this topic.
