https://7clib.cc/3O1h1rF Attribution-ShareAlike 4.0 International (CC BY-SA 4.0), https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/ "Photo of Ruth Johnson, R.N., a health care worker at the ELWA 2 ETU (Ebola Treatment Unit) in Paynesville, Liberia on Friday, March 6, 2015. Occidental College art professor Mary Beth Heffernan’s PPE Portrait Project creates wearable portraits of the health care workers who must wear PPE (personal protective equipment) when working with Ebola patients. (Photo by Marc Campos, Occidental College Photographer)"
"Ebola virus disease (EVD), formerly known as Ebola hemorrhagic fever, is a severe, often fatal illness affecting humans and other primates...The virus is transmitted to people from wild animals (such as fruit bats, porcupines and non-human primates) and then spreads in the human population through direct contact with the blood, secretions, organs or other bodily fluids of infected people, and with surfaces and materials (e.g. bedding, clothing) contaminated with these fluids....The average EVD case fatality rate is around 50%. Case fatality rates have varied from 25% to 90% in past outbreaks.,,,The first EVD outbreaks occurred in remote villages in Central Africa, near tropical rainforests. The 2014–2016 outbreak in West Africa was the largest and most complex Ebola outbreak since the virus was first discovered in 1976. There were more cases and deaths in this outbreak than all others combined. It also spread between countries, starting in Guinea then moving across land borders to Sierra Leone and Liberia.....It is thought that fruit bats of the Pteropodidae family are natural Ebola virus hosts"
--World Heath Organization https://www.who.int/health-topics/ebola#tab=tab_1 (accessed April 5, 2021)
Outbreak Culture: the Ebola crisis and the next epidemic by
An award-winning genetic researcher who helped contain the Ebola outbreak and a prize-winning journalist reveal what it will take to prevent the next pandemic from spiraling out of control. As we saw with our response to Ebola and Zika?and are seeing now with the disastrous early handling of the coronavirus COVID-19 outbreak?a lack of preparedness, delays in action, and large-scale system-wide problems with the distribution of critical medical resources can result in lost lives. Outbreak Culture examines each phase of the 2014 Ebola outbreak in West Africa?one of the largest and deadliest epidemics to date?and identifies factors that prevented key information from reaching physicians. Drawing insights from clinical workers, data collectors, organizational experts, and public health researchers, Pardis Sabeti and Lara Salahi expose a fractured system that failed to gather and share knowledge of the virus and ensure timely containment. The authors describe how much more could have been done by global medical and political organizations to safeguard the well-being of caregivers, patients, and communities affected by this devastating outbreak and they outline changes that are urgently needed to ensure a more effective coordinated response to the next epidemic. Secrecy, competition, and poor coordination plague nearly every major public health crisis?and we are seeing their deadly consequences play out again. A work of fearless integrity and unassailable authority, Outbreak Culture seeks to change the culture of responders.
Ebola's Curse: 2013-2016 outbreak in West Africa by
Ebola's Curse: 2013-2016 Outbreak in West Africa is about hemorrhagic fever viruses, especially Ebola, its initial origin in central Africa 1976, its unprecedented appearance in West Africa in 2013. The book records in sequence and detective style how the initial outbreak of Ebola from the index case in rural Guinea traveled to Sierra Leone, the work and fate of those working in the Kenema Government Hospital (KGH) isolation ward in Sierra Leone. The book provides vignettes of the three main players involved with Ebola at KGH, Sheik Khan, Pardis Sabeti, and Robert Garry. Khan was the head of the unit, declared a national hero by his Sierra Leone government. He died fighting Ebola and was/is recognized in the USA by American societies by awards created for his historic work and death. Pardis Sabeti, a geneticist from Harvard and Broad MIT Institute, who was honored as a "Scientist of the Year" by Time Magazine and the Smithsonian Institute. Robert Garry, head of the operation to fight hemorrhagic fevers and Ebola, shuttled between Tulane University, KGH, and The White House to make aware through the press and others the dilemma and tragedy that was unfolding, and the need to obtain additional medical and health care support and supplies. Sabeti and Garry currently work with Oldstone on Ebola at KGH and thus personal communication and knowledge was/is available to the author for the book. Includes perspectives from the 2013-2016 outbreak in West Africa Provides a detailed overview of the origins of Ebola virus through present day discoveries Written with an integrative approach, incorporating scientific research with insights from the field on Public Health and Medical History
Ebola Virus Disease by
Ebola Virus Disease: From Origins to Outbreak covers Ebola virus disease in its entirety from its origins through major outbreaks in the past to the present day outbreak. It contains information on the West Saharan response to Ebola as well as highlights from the field in West Africa from Dr. Qureshi and Dr. Chughtai, helping to solve the primary question of what's next and aiding in formulating a path forward. With a growing awareness of the devastating effects of this viral disease and an influx of topical research, this book provides the information the global community of researchers, clinicians and students need to better inform their research and study of Ebola virus disease. Includes perspectives from the 2014-2015 outbreak from the field Provides a detailed overview of the origins of Ebola virus through present day discoveries Written with an integrative approach, incorporating scientific research with insights from the field
Ebola, Culture and Politics : the Anthropology of an Emerging Disease by
In this case study, readers will embark on an improbable journey through the heart of Africa to discover how indigenous people cope with the rapid-killing Ebola virus. The Hewletts are the first anthropologists ever invited by the World Health Organization to join a medical intervention team and assist in efforts to control an Ebola outbreak. Their account addresses political, structural, psychological, and cultural factors, along with conventional intervention protocols as problematic to achieving medical objectives. They find obvious historical and cultural answers to otherwise-puzzling questions about why village people often flee, refuse to cooperate, and sometimes physically attack members of intervention teams. Perhaps surprisingly, readers will discover how some cultural practices of local people are helpful and should be incorporated into control procedures. The authors shed new light on a continuing debate about the motivation for human behavior by showing how local responses to epidemics are rooted both in culture and in human nature. Well-supported recommendations emerge from a comparative analysis of Central African cases and pandemics worldwide to suggest how the United States and other countries might use anthropologists and the insights of anthropologists to mount more effective public health campaigns, with particular attention to avian flu and bioterrorism.
A Day-By-Day Chronicle of the 2013-2016 Ebola Outbreak by
This powerful history describes the daily progression of the Ebola outbreak that swept across West Africa and struck Europe and America from December 2013 to June 2016. A case study on a massive scale, it follows the narratives of numerous patients as well as the journey of physicians and scientists from discovery to action and from tracking to containment. The unfolding story reveals ever-shifting complexities such as the varied paths the infection took from country to country, the multiple responses of community members, and the occurrence of flare-ups when the outbreak was seemingly over. The book's finely-documented present-tense reporting records key facts, events, and observations, including: Routes of Ebola transmission, incubation, symptoms, short- and long-term effects on survivors Early attempts to understand and contain the virus and curb practices contributing to its spread Medical, governmental, and public responses, from local education programs to global efforts Communication and conflict between healthcare workers and communities Social and economic outcomes of Ebola in the affected nations Ebola remains incurable, although a vaccine is now available. For members of the medical community, public health officials, medical historians, scholarly professionals, and interested laypeople, A Day-by-Day Chronicle of the 2013-2016 Ebola Outbreak makes starkly clear what we can learn from these events not only for future outbreaks of Ebola, but also for the emergence of as-yet unknown diseases.
The Ebola Epidemic in West Africa: proceedings of a workshop by
The most recent Ebola epidemic that began in late 2013 alerted the entire world to the gaps in infectious disease emergency preparedness and response. The regional outbreak that progressed to a significant public health emergency of international concern (PHEIC) in a matter of months killed 11,310 and infected more than 28,616. While this outbreak bears some unique distinctions to past outbreaks, many characteristics remain the same and contributed to tragic loss of human life and unnecessary expenditure of capital: insufficient knowledge of the disease, its reservoirs, and its transmission; delayed prevention efforts and treatment; poor control of the disease in hospital settings; and inadequate community and international responses. Recognizing the opportunity to learn from the countless lessons of this epidemic, the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine convened a workshop in March 2015 to discuss the challenges to successful outbreak responses at the scientific, clinical, and global health levels. Workshop participants explored the epidemic from multiple perspectives, identified important questions about Ebola that remained unanswered, and sought to apply this understanding to the broad challenges posed by Ebola and other emerging pathogens, to prevent the international community from being taken by surprise once again in the face of these threats. This publication summarizes the presentations and discussions from the workshop.
The Politics of Fear: Médecins sans Frontières and the West African ebola epidemic by
The 2014-2015 Ebola epidemic in West Africa was an unprecedented medical and political emergency that cast an unflattering light on multiple corners of government and international response. Fear, not rational planning, appeared to drive many decisions made at population and leadership levels,which in turn brought about a response that was as uneven as it was unprecedented: entire populations were decimated or destroyed, vaccine trials were fast-tracked, health staff died, untested medications were used (or not used) in controversial ways, humanitarian workers returned home to enforcedisolation, and military was employed to sometimes disturbing ends.The epidemic revealed serious fault lines at all levels of theory and practice of global public health: national governments were shown to be helpless and unprepared for calamity at this scale; the World Health Organization was roundly condemned for its ineffectiveness; the US quietly created itsown African CDC a year after the epidemic began. Amid such chaos, Medecins sans Frontieres was forced to act with unprecdented autonomy - and amid great criticism - in responding to the disease, taking unprecedented steps in deploying services and advocating for international aid.The Politics of Fear provides a primary documentary resource for recounting and learning from the Ebola epidemic. Comprising eleven topic-based chapters and four eyewitness vignettes from both MSF- and non-MSF-affiliated contributors (all of whom have been given access to MSF Ebola archives fromGuinea, Sierra Leone, and Liberia for research), it aims to provide a politically agnostic account of the defining health event of the 21st century so far, one that will hopefully inform current opinions and future responses.
Pregnant in the Time of Ebola: women and their children in the 2013-2015 West African epidemic by
This comprehensive account of the deadliest Ebola outbreak in history examines its devastating effects on West Africa's most vulnerable populations: pregnant women and children. Noted experts across disciplines assess health care systems' responses to the epidemic in Liberia, Guinea, and Sierra Leone, emphasizing key areas such as pregnancy, prenatal services, childbirth, neonatal care, and survivor health among pregnant and non-pregnant women. The 30 chapters hone in on gender-based social issues exacerbated during the outbreak, from violence against women and girls to barriers to female education. At the same time, chapters pinpoint numerous areas for service delivery and policy improvements for more coordinated, effective, and humane actions during future pandemics. A sampling of the topics: Ebola virus disease: perinatal transmission and epidemiology Comprehensive clinical care for children with Ebola virus disease Maternal and reproductive rights: Ebola and the law in Liberia Ebola-related complications for maternal, newborn, and child health service delivery and utilization in Guinea The Ebola epidemic halted female genital cutting in Sierra Leone--temporarily Maternity care for Ebola at Médecins Sans Frontières centers Stigmatization of pregnant women with and without Ebola Exclusion of women and infants from Ebola treatment trials Role of midwives during the Ebola epidemic Pregnant in the Time of Ebola is a powerful resource for public health specialists, anthropologists, social scientists, physicians, epidemiologists, nurses, midwives, and governmental and non-governmental agency staff studying the effects of the epidemic on women and children as a result of the most widespread Ebola outbreak to date.
Epidemic: Ebola and the Global Race to Prevent the Next Killer Outbreakhttps://ccl.on.worldcat.org/oclc/1015887004 by 
Ebola: how a people's science helped end an epidemic by
Shortlisted for the Fage and Oliver Prize 2018 From December 2013, the largest Ebola outbreak in history swept across West Africa, claiming thousands of lives in Liberia, Sierra Leone and Guinea. By the middle of 2014, the international community was gripped by hysteria. Experts grimly predicted that millions would be infected within months, and a huge international control effort was mounted to contain the virus. Yet paradoxically, by this point the disease was already going into decline in Africa itself. So why did outside observers get it so wrong? Paul Richards draws on his extensive first-hand experience in Sierra Leone to argue that the international community's panicky response failed to take account of local expertise and common sense. Crucially, Richards shows that the humanitarian response to the disease was most effective in those areas where it supported these initiatives and that it hampered recovery when it ignored or disregarded local knowledge.
Global Management of Infectious Disease after Ebola by
The 2014-2015 Ebola outbreak in West Africa shocked the world with its devastation and its rapid migration to multiple continents. As the systems meant to respond to this sort of epidemic failed, the disease exposed not just weaknesses in international infectious disease surveillance andmanagement, but the failures of governments, humanitarian organizations, and international institutions to handle the legal, ethical, and economic questions that arose with an event of this scale.Global Management of Infectious Disease After Ebola unites the insights of Ebola's first responders with those the world's foremost experts in law, economics, vaccine development, and global migration to identify missed opportunities from the Ebola crisis -- and to apply these lessons to emerginginfectious disease threats. Framed with critical discussions of both the global health financing infrastructures that precipitated the response and the ethical and human rights dilemmas that resulted from it, this volume is much more than postmortem to an outbreak: it is a vital, sometimes damningexamination of where we've been and where we're going in the face of emerging infectious diseases.
Neoliberal Ebola: Modeling Disease Emergence from Finance to Forest a by
This volume compiles five papers modeling the effects of neoliberal economics on the emergence of Ebola and its aftermath. Neoliberalism is currently the world's primary economic philosophy. It centers international relations around globalizing laissez-faire economics for multinational companies, promoting free trade, deregulating economic markets, and shifting state expenditures in favor of private property. The multidisciplinary teams represented here place both Ebola Makona, the Zaire Ebola virus variant that has infected 28,000 in West Africa, and Ebola Reston, which is currently emerging in industrial hog farms in the Philippines and China, within a multi-plank modeling framework. Using a stochastic extinction model that one group spatializes, environmental stochasticity across the ecologies in which Ebola evolves is treated as an ecosystemic prophylaxis. An agroecological logic gate is developed for epidemic control. A Black-Scholes model explicitly links economic margins across agricultural systems to success in biocontrol. This new control theory is further developed around the data-rate and rate-distortion theorems, a turbulence model, and cognitive symmetry breaking. Lastly, a model of pandemic penetrance is used to explore the domino effects of serious outbreaks amplifying through the cascades of disasters that can follow deadly pandemics. All the models presented are contextualized by socioeonomic geographies specific to outbreak locales. Together the models suggest shifts in regional agroeconomics under the neoliberal doctrine, driving deforestation and monoculture production, destroying the ecosystemic "friction" with which local forests typically disrupt Ebola transmission. The resulting collapse in such an ecological function accelerates pathogen spillover and propagation across the remaining host populations. The failure on the part of current control efforts to assimilate such a structural context may render even an efficacious vaccine dysfunctional. The authors propose an alternate science of disease and an adjunct program of interventions useful to researchers and public health officials alike.
Coordinating Global Health Policy Responses:: from HIV/AIDS to Ebola and beyond by
This book identifies the main challenges to confronting global health (in)securities at three levels. First, at the level of zoonosis, to which HIV and Ebola, as well as H1Nn, MERS-CoV, and SARS belong, and which promise to continue to emerge. Second, at the level of the spread of these across bio-, ecological and political boundaries and borders, particularly nationally. These present challenges not only in terms of immunities, but also in terms of rights - who is eligible for treatment under whose responsibility? Finally, at the international level of global administration, presenting a challenge in terms of coordinated public health, legal, political, and economic response. The book develops coordinated policy recommendations for meeting these challenges in a globalized world, and examines the unique opportunities and challenges associated with the co-administration of the good of public health by both nation states and non-state actors. This book will be valuable read for students of Public Policy, Health Policy and Management, International Relations and Global Governance.
