Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library is now open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.

Special Collections Access Guide

Special Collections Access Guide

This guide is intended to provide guidance on how to discover, request, and cite Special Collections materials.

Special Collections

Reading Room with shelves of books all around and a wood table in the center.Special Collections is The Claremont Colleges Library's primary repository for rare and unique materials. The collections number nearly 200,000 volumes and more than 11,000 linear feet of a diverse array of literary and historical manuscripts, personal papers, and college archives that span more than 900 years of human history. The collections are available for research, teaching, and study in person, and, increasingly, digitally in the Claremont Colleges Digital Library. We provide an array of research support and instruction services to the students, faculty, and staff of The Claremont Colleges and the wider scholarly community; we partner with faculty and our library colleagues on course-integrated instruction, and we provide students opportunities to engage with and utilize primary sources in their research.

We Have Special Collections Requests from Around the World!