/*Font style and formatting for LibGuides*/ Skip to Main Content
Research Guides

Special Collections Access Guide

College Yearbooks

Yearbooks are a window into student life and often offer photos of past students and faculty.

Tips

  • Identify specific volumes that correspond to your research interests.
  • Make a separate request for each individual yearbook volume that you would like to view.

Student Newspapers

  • Collage (Claremont Colleges), Vol. 1, no. 1 (Mar. 13, 1978)-

  • Claremont Collegian (Claremont Colleges), Vol. 1, no. 1 (Wed., Feb. 16, 1966)-v. 23, no. 19 (Thurs., May 19, 1977)

  • The Student Life (Pomona College), Vol. 1, no. 1 (Oct. 3, 1893)-

Dissertations and Theses

The Claremont Colleges Library holds many dissertations and theses. These can be found in a variety of places including Special Collections. Please consult the FAQs below for more information about searching and accessing dissertations and theses.

When requesting dissertations or theses found in Special Collections, please place the request directly from the Library Search item record or place a manual request by selecting "Book" under the "New Request" menu.

Other repositories and collections for dissertations and theses:

College Periodicals

Search Tips

  • Open the spreadsheet to browse tabs arranged by institution:
    • CUC & TCCS = The Claremont Colleges Services (formerly Claremont University Consortium)
    • CGS & CGU = Claremont Graduate University (formerly Claremont Graduate School)
    • CMC = Claremont McKenna College (formerly Claremont Men's College)
    • HM = Harvey Mudd College
    • Pitzer = Pitzer College
    • Pomona = Pomona College
    • Scripps = Scripps College
    • Affiliated Institutions
    • Pitzer EAD
  • Browse or use Ctrl + F to search for a title or keyword
  • Each title entry represents a publication.
  • Look at the date range and issue date to identify volumes of interest.

Tips for Requesting

  • Submit a request manually within your Special Collections account.
  • Select "Journal/Newspaper" under "New Request" on the left hand side.
    • Add the details of your request:
      • Title
      • Year
      • Volume
    • Choose "Honnold/Mudd Special Collections" as the reading room.
    • Include the range, section, and shelf number from the spreadsheet in the Grouping field
      • For example, "Range 5, Section F, Shelf 3" or "5 / F / 3"
    • Click the "Submit Request" button.

Subject Files

Special Collections holds a variety of materials relating to the history of The Claremont Colleges and its affiliates. Many resources can be found in Library Search, the Online Archive of California (OAC), and Archives at TCC (ASpace). The subject files complement these resources.

Search Tips

  • Open the spreadsheet to browse tabs arranged by institution.
  • Use CTRL+F to search individual tabs or change your search to include the entire spreadsheet.
  • Since this is a folder-level collection, not item-level, you may need to think in terms of broad categories (e.g., if you're looking for a particular student event, you might look within folders labeled student activities). 
  • If you find something of interest, place a request in your Special Collections Account with the folder title and the drawer number.