Research Guides: Special Collections Access Guide: Dissertations and Theses

Dissertations and Theses

The Claremont Colleges Library holds many dissertations and theses, many of which can be found in Special Collections. Please consult the FAQs below and the resources on this page for more information about searching and accessing dissertations and theses.

Other repositories and collections for dissertations and theses:

Access a Thesis or Dissertation in Person

Follow these steps to access theses and dissertations held at The Claremont Colleges Library in person.

Search for the title using Library Search.

If the work is held in the general collections (shelving location = Honnold 1st Floor), you can access the work with regular Library access. Please see information about accessing the building.
If the work is only held in Special Collections (shelving location = Archive), please make a request for the copy from your Special Collections Account (select "Book Request") and schedule a Reading Room appointment one or more days in advance.

Access a Thesis or Dissertation Remotely

Follow these steps to access theses and dissertations held at The Claremont Colleges Library remotely.

Check Scholarship@Claremont (S@C) for a digital copy. Please note that some works in S@C have access restrictions for users unaffiliated with the Claremont Colleges.
Check ProQuest to access or order a digital copy: Users affiliated with the Claremont Colleges: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global If you are affiliated with an institution, check your library for database access. Users not affiliated with the Claremont Colleges: ProQuest Dissertation Search
Borrow a circulating copy through your library’s interlibrary loan services. Please note that Special Collections copies does not circulate.
Submit a copy request for portions of the work under fair use guidelines. See our formats & fees section for scanning rates.
Ask the author for permission for the Library to copy or digitize it. You may request permission from the author directly and have them send us a message in writing that states that they give a one-time duplication permission to you personally. Please see our formats & fees section for scanning rates. If the author is willing to add their work to Scholarship@Claremont, our institutional repository, we will copy it and add it to S@C to provide digital access free of charge. For some guidance on requesting permission, see “The Basics of Getting Permission” from Stanford University Libraries and “Asking for Permission” from Columbia University Libraries.