Research Guides: Science, Technology, & Society (STS): Home

Welcome and Quick Start

This guide is intended to connect you to a variety of resources useful for conducting STS research. Use the tabs on the left-hand side to navigate this guide.

If you are new to conducting research:
Consider taking the Start Your Research tutorial to better understand the phases and processes of doing research.

Start your STS research with these key resources:

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find scholarly articles and books on the history of science, technology and medicine
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, books
Covers scientific developments from prehistory to the present across scientific disciplines such as biology, computer science, engineering, geography, mathematics, neuroscience, pharmacy, physics, psychiatry, and public health.
Language: English, Italian, German, French, Spanish, Russian, Dutch, Polish, etc.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for sociology with international coverage of the social and behavioral sciences.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, books, trade journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses
Coverage dates: 1952-present
Language: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great for discovering scholarly research across a wide array of subject areas, primarily published in high-impact (highly cited) journals in the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, book chapters
Coverage dates: 1965-present
Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Text Mining: Allowed; only through Clarivate APIs
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP

Related Research Guides

Classics & Classical Studies
by Adam Rosenkranz Oct 31, 2024 115 views this year
Philosophy
by Adam Rosenkranz Dec 6, 2024 234 views this year
Sociology
by Dieter Mackenbach Aug 19, 2024 145 views this year
Computer Science
by STEM Librarians Sep 10, 2024 42 views this year
Gender/ Feminist/ Sexuality/ Women's/ Queer Studies
by Nazia Islam Aug 19, 2024 230 views this year
African History
by Adam Rosenkranz Aug 30, 2024 155 views this year
Asian History
by Adam Rosenkranz Aug 30, 2024 163 views this year
European History
by Adam Rosenkranz Nov 27, 2024 246 views this year
Late Antique-Medieval Studies (LAMS)
by Adam Rosenkranz Dec 6, 2024 90 views this year
Latin American History
by Adam Rosenkranz Sep 10, 2024 256 views this year
Middle Eastern / North African History
by Adam Rosenkranz Sep 9, 2024 138 views this year
U.S. History
by Adam Rosenkranz Dec 6, 2024 1250 views this year
Religion & Religious Studies
by Nazia Islam Sep 9, 2024 188 views this year
Government Information
by Mary Martin Dec 18, 2024 360 views this year
Data & Statistics
by Mary Martin Oct 1, 2024 579 views this year

All Research Guides

Arts and Humanities Librarian

Adam Rosenkranz

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services - The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-3986

Subjects: American Studies, Classics / Ancient Studies & Late Antique-Medieval Studies, European Studies, German, History, Languages & Literatures, Late Antique-Medieval Studies, Latin American Studies, Middle Eastern / North African Studies, Philosophy, Russian, Science, Technology, & Society, U.S. History