The Library is open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges, as well as community card holders. Masks are required and eating is not permitted. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.
Main database for identifying research literature on historical and emerging issues pertinent to the study of Latin America. Covers social sciences and humanities topics in alternate years. No direct linking to Claremont holdings for pre-1990 items.
Provides access to resources owned by the Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from libraries worldwide that we do not own. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (e-books, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).
Types of History Research: Primary VS. Secondary
Your professor may require you to find scholarly sources popular sources, secondary sources or primary sources on your topic. Here's a very basic guide if you need more details:
Primary Sources: Primary sources are the raw stuff of history. Examples of primary sources:
diaries and journals
newspaper or magazine articles,
novels, plays, or poetry
reports, autobiographies, memoirs, or books written during the time of an event
Some Primary Sources are also known as popular sources.
Secondary or Scholarly Sources:
These are the peer reviewed articles and scholarly books that historians write after they have worked with the primary sources -- and consulted other secondary articles or books.
Historiography: Historiography is the study of how historians have interpreted historical events throughout time. The student of the historiography of\ the Cuban Revolution , for example, might want to compare how this event was seen by historians in the 1950s, 1960s, 1970s, thirty years. One way of doing this comparative interpretation, is by looking for bibliographies on a subject or using the keyword "historiography" combined with keywords from the subject of your research (such as "revolution" in our Library Search or an scholarly database such as Historical Abstracts , HAPI (Hispanic American Periodicals Index), or The Handbook of Latin American Studies.