Where to Start
Start with a keyword
search in Blais
to find books and other materials located at Honnold/Mudd, Denison, or The Claremont School of Theology library. You can then expand your
search with the resources below to find articles and books. N.B. These resources can only be searched off the campus of the Claremont Colleges by current students, faculty and staff with a valid CC ID.
- Encyclopedia of ReligionThe main English Language Reference Source for the study of religion.
- ATLA Religion The main database for scholarly articles and books about religion.
- Philosopher's IndexThe main database for scholarship about Philosophy. A good place to go for research about philosophy of religion.
- Historical AbstractsA good supplement for the history of religion in the modern world
- America: History and LifeThe main database for scholarship of US and Canadian history has much on the history of religion in North America.
- Academic Search PremierA good place to start for any topic or discipline; includes popular as well as scholarly.
- Women's Studies Internationalhas much on women's history.
- Lexis/Nexis AcademicFull text international news, US legal cases, congressional documents and much more.
Comments (0)
General Primary Sources
- Internet Sacred Text ArchiveOpen source full text sources of scripture and religious texts from any world religions
- Past MastersSelected Western Religion, Philosophy, and Literature classics in full text. N.B. This resource can only be searched off the campus of the Claremont Colleges by current students, faculty and staff with a valid CC ID.
Reference, General Sources , and Gateways
- Encyclopedia of ReligionThis resource can only be searched off the campus of the Claremont Colleges by current students, faculty and staff with a valid CC ID.
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
- Claremont Journal of Religion"A forum for publishing on issues relating to religion and contemporary life"
- Finding God in Cyberspace: A guide to Religious Resources on the Internet
- Hartford Institute Sociology of Religion Gateway
- Virtual Religion Index
- Religious WorldsGood for basic sites by individual religions or categories
- Facets of Religion
- Boston Collaborative Encyclopedia of Western Philosophy
- Why Study Religion?Useful especially for "Where do I start" Tab, which links to a list of basic texts, by general categories and specific religions.
- Worldwide Faith NewsA steady flow of news about religion, with emphasis on the social and political. Searchable.
- Roudledge Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThis resource can only be searched off the campus of the Claremont Colleges by current students, faculty and staff with a valid CC ID.
- Religion Sourceexcellent links to statistical and other sources.
Subject Guide |
Chat requires JavaScript. Contact Info Please feel free to contact me through the library Help Widget, or when I'm offline, email me or call me at 909-607-8986 (x73986) Send Email |

Loading...
