Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
Why search here? Search here for scholarly resources about the Medieval Period (300-1500), from a variety of displines.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, essay collections, and conference proceedings
Special Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users
Disciplinary areas include: Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Art History, Music, and Performance Arts
Provides access to resources owned by the Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from other libraries worldwide. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (eBooks, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).
Types of History Research: Primary VS. Secondary
Your professor may require you to find scholarly sources popular sources, secondary sources or primary sources on your topic. Here's a very basic guide if you need more details:
Primary Sources: Primary sources are the raw stuff of history. Examples of primary sources:
diaries and journals
newspaper or magazine articles,
novels, plays, or poetry
reports, autobiographies, memoirs, or books written during the time of an event
Some Primary Sources are also known as popular sources.
Secondary or Scholarly Sources:
These are the peer reviewed articles and scholarly books that historians write after they have worked with the primary sources -- and consulted other secondary articles or books.
Historiography: Historiography is the study of how historians have interpreted historical events throughout time. The student of the historiography of the English Civil war , for example, might want to compare how historians wrote about that event in the Eighteenth, Nineteenth, Twentieth and Twenty-first centuries. . One way of doing this comparative interpretation, is by looking for bibliographies on a subject or using the keyword "historiography" combined with keywords from the subject of your research (such as "English civil war"" in our Library Search or a scholarly database such as Historical Abstracts.)