Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
So, you have been tasked with a final group project: Deconstructing Claremont. The goal of these research projects is to help see Claremont in new ways, making visible the (largely) invisible. Who has been erased from its history? What is buried beneath the 21st century city? What forces and systems made this possible? How? Some of the answers might lie in available resources (water, energy, transportation, etc.); others in the local economy – the citrus industry, for one, the colleges for another. Infrastructure (flood control, railroad, automobiles/roads/highways) surely is a contributing fact. Legal prescriptions, racial and ethnic disparities, class divisions, and gender inequities are among the key indicators you might address.
You have been grouped into four teams to work on these projects (list of topics below - more suggestive than prescriptive). One key resource to these projects is the Library’s amazing digital archives. The final project can be a story map, website, podcast, zine, or even a paper (10-15 pages).
This slide presentation includes information covered during both class visits to Special Collections and includes links to course resources as well as helpful tips/tricks for searching and requesting Special Collections materials from Library Search, our archival database (Archives at TCC), our completed findng aids online (Online Archive of California), and The Claremont Colleges Digital Library.
Curated for EA 20 (Fall 2020), this virtual exhibit contains digitized versions of materials found in Special Collections. These items are to help course students complete their Deconstructing Claremont project. Materials in this virtual exhibit include primary sources spanning 1872 to 2017 and cover a variety of topics including Tongva indigenous people, Rancho San José, the precursor to the City of Claremont,1880s boosterism materials, citrus industry, early water and power efforts in the area,1916 and 1938 flood photographs, ground water information, and local water issues.