POM EA 20 / Nature, Culture, and Society / Prof. Miller / FA22

The Boynton Collection offers a view of early Claremont through the eyes of an amateur photographer. This collection of glass plate negatives captures aspects of life in Claremont and at Pomona College around the turn of the twentieth century. As well as documenting local buildings and landscape, they present a candid glimpse of Pomona College student life, including athletic events, theatrical productions, college outings, and residence halls.

The bulk of the collections center on Southern California – the Los Angeles basin, the San Gabriel and Pomona Valleys, and the Inland Empire region (San Bernardino and Riverside Counties). Some of the collections include materials about Central and Northern California, San Diego (CA) County, Arizona, Nevada, and Utah. The archival holdings from 7 partner institutions comprise blueprints, correspondence, ephemera, ledgers, legal papers, maps, pamphlets, photographs, plans, reports, scrapbooks, and technical documents.

The City of Claremont History Collection documents the development of Claremont from its boom years at the end of the nineteenth century to the present day. Composed of photographs taken by various amateur and professional photographers over a one hundred year span, the collection provides a glimpse of Claremont’s past through photographs of its buildings, neighborhoods, local landscape, and daily life.

Documenting the history and development of The Claremont Colleges through images, this collection began with building and grounds photographs and has grown to include athletics, student activities, and student organizations as well as photos of administration officials, alumni, faculty, and students. This collection is still “active” and will continue to grow as more photographs are added.

The archive contains materials related to the efforts at The Claremont Colleges to create a more sustainable campus, one that minimizes the colleges' impacts on resources and the environment. The creation of this collection was sparked by The Claremont Colleges Sustainability Initiative announced by The Claremont Colleges Council of Presidents in March 2007.

Maps and Mapping at The Claremont Colleges offers digital access to printed maps available at The Claremont Colleges Library Special Collections, as well as those available at Ella Strong Denison Library at Scripps College. Mostly historical maps (1600s-1800s) but includes early maps of Claremont and Pomona, a 1941 map of San Bernardino County, and a couple of Claremont Chamber of Commerce maps.

The Larry Oglesby Collection consists of 35 mm color slides of flora and fauna taken by Professor Larry Oglesby, Professor Emeritus of Biology at Pomona College. The most frequent subject of Oglesby's slides is the Bernard Field Station located in Claremont.

This archive contains materials which describe the complex aspects of the Pomona College Organic Farm’s history since the late 1990s.

The Rose Institute's California Political History Archive and Database chronicles California's election, redistricting and political history together with biographical information on state legislators and constitutional office holders since 1849.

The Edward Vischer Drawings, Photographs and Other Material is a collection of pencil drawings, loose albumen and lithograph prints of his drawings, and bound volumes of his prints. Vischer is best known for his pencil sketches of California landscapes throughout the 1860s and 1870s. He sketched a wide variety of scenes and objects, but most commonly the California missions, trees, mountains, and rural scenes. Of special interest are his drawings of the ruins of the missions, the Washoe mining region, horses and wagons, including the Pony Express, and even camels which were part of a short lived military experiment to import them into California.

West-ography, re-imaging the West consists primarily of photographs documenting how the American west has been imaged historically and over the years.

The Wheeler Scrapbooks were a gift of Frank Wheeler, a real estate businessman, to The Claremont Colleges, and they chronicle life at Pomona College and in the city of Claremont from 1884 to 1938.