Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 1,825,000 images, texts, and recordings - and counting. Suggested search terms: Tongva, citrus, and freeways.
Explore our site to discover the most extensive history of California Citrus ever compiled in one place. Site provides videos, online history exhibits, and a brand list.
An online archive (Laserfiche) of many City documents, which includes past City Council agendas, resolutions, minutes, and ordinances of the City. Documents are available as far back as 1907.Documents for the general public on a variety of topics including Land Use Planning & Development. Explore the links on the landing page such as "All Categories," "Commissions," "General Plan," and "Zoning."
Claremont Heritage, a non-profit organization, was formed in 1976 by citizens of Claremont to carry out a mission to advance, preserve and celebrate the historic architectural, natural and cultural resources of our community through collaboration, education and advocacy.
Hugo Reid's "Letters on the Los Angeles County Indians," written in the mid-19th century, were serially published as Letters in the Los Angeles Star during the year 1852 and republished in 1869 in this same paper. The letters describe indigenous people who lived in the Los Angeles area before and during the mission period. They were known as "Gabrieleno" in reference to the San Gabriel Mission with which this language group was most closely associated. Descendants today refer to themselves by the traditional word "Tongva".
Water resources archival collections from seven partner institutions are now available in a central location. These collections originate from a variety of sources, such as federal, state and local governments, water companies, local agencies, engineers and other individuals involved in water resources development in the Southern California region. In essence, you will be searching the CA Water Documents Collection in the CCDL, but this portal provides more information about the partners and the collections.
