Research Guides: Chemistry: Get Started

Key Resources

If you are new to conducting research:
Consider reviewing the Starting Your Research tutorial to learn the phases and processes of doing research.

To find books or articles we own, or to see what we have on a particular topic, use Library Search on the Library's website.

To search by title, add ti: to the beginning of your search
- ti:The Radium Girls
To search by topic, enter the topic in the search
- examples: green fluorescent protein
Use the filters on the left-side of the results page to narrow down what you're looking for

Start your research with these key chemistry-focused resources:

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
SciFinder searches the Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) databases of chemistry and related fields. Contains articles, chemical data, spectra, and more. First time users need to register for an account using their Claremont Colleges email.
SciFinder use is limited to Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff for educational purposes.
Language: English, Chinese, Japanese, etc.
Keywords: Chemical Abstracts
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citations for scholarly articles in the sciences, social sciences, and some arts and humanities. Great for finding heavily cited articles in the sciences, and can find articles citing known works or articles that cite a common article.
Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Text Mining: Allowed; only through Clarivate APIs
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citation database of biomedical articles, run by the National Library of Medicine.
Includes advanced search tools such as Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and the Clinical Queries feature. Personalized MyNCBI account features, such as email alerts, are only available by leaving the Library's instance of PubMed and accessing the resource through the open web site (pubmed.gov).
Language: English
Keywords: Pub Med
Merck Index Online This link opens in a new window
A reference source on chemical, drug, and biologicals information.
Search by name, structure, CAS registry number, molecular formula, molecular weight, and other physical properties.
Language: English
Keywords: Royal Society of Chemistry RSC
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology This link opens in a new window
A reference text with articles on chemical substances, including properties, manufacturing and uses.
Previous versions of articles are archived for posterity.
Language: English

Related Research Guides

Biology
by Katie Kohn Aug 19, 2024 704 views this year

STEM Librarian

Katie Kohn

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services
The Claremont Colleges Library

909 621-8867

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Mathematics, Neuroscience, Physics & Astronomy