ACS Style Guide contains information on ethics in scientific communication, editorial process, copyright, conventions in chemistry, grammar, punctuation, spelling, and writing style. Includes appendices on abbreviations, acronyms, and symbols, names and numbers for chemical compounds, end-of-line hypenation for chemical names, and more.
Using the above link, a digitized print copy of the ACS Style Guide can be checked out via HathiTrust or Internet Archive for one hour at a time. For more information about these services, see the following FAQs:
Example ACS style citations for a variety of source types. This section of the ACS Guide to Schoarly Communications is openly accessible.
Print and e-books on Research and Writing in Science
Below are a selection of books at the Claremont Colleges Library about research and writing in the sciences. This is not our whole collection - to find more, search for "writing" or "research" and "science" "chemistry" or "STEM" to find more.
Write Like a Chemist is a unique guide to chemistry-specific writing. Written with National Science Foundation support and extensively piloted in chemistry courses nationwide, it offers a structured approach to writing that targets four important chemistry genres: the journal article, conference abstract, scientific poster, and research proposal.
A guide to writing scientific research proposals for funding. Includes selecting a topic, project planning, identifying funding sources, special funding mechanism, writing a proposal, research ethics and responsibilities, and how to deal with a declined proposal.
Organizing Your Research
Citation Managers are tools to help you keep track of your citations as you research and to create/format your citations and bibliography. For example, Zotero allows you to keep citations, full text articles, and other research resources organized in one place. You can also use these tools to format your bibliographies and the notes/citations in your papers according to the appropriate style (APA, MLA, Chicago, etc.).
Zotero is a free open source application that works with Firefox, Chrome, and Safari, you can also download a client to your computer. It is a good choice if you use just one computer when researching. You can access citation information when online or offline.