Research Guides: Chemistry: Find Articles and Primary Literature

Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles

You can find articles on chemical topics and interdisciplinary science topics in several of these databases. Many of these databases have search tools that are specific to chemistry or other science subjects. You can request items that the library does not have access to through Resource Sharing.

You can also easily browse for journal articles online through our electronic journal search. Search for individual titles in the search box, or browse journals alphabetically.

Databases for Finding Articles

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual Reviews are secondary sources that are collections of critical reviews written by scientists. A good place to start for an overview of a topic.
Language: English
Keywords: AR
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great for conducting comprehensive searches in chemistry and related fields, with the ability to conduct substance and reaction based searches.
Content type: Chemical data and abstracts of scholarly articles, patents, conference proceedings, reports, books, dissertations, clinical trials etc.
Special Note: First time users need to register for a web account using your Claremont Colleges email.
SciFinder use is limited to Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff for educational purposes.
Language: English, Chinese, Japanese, etc.
Keywords: Chemical Abstracts
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great for discovering scholarly research across a wide array of subject areas, primarily published in high-impact (highly cited) journals in the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, book chapters
Coverage dates: 1965-present
Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Text Mining: Allowed; only through Clarivate APIs
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Access to IEEE transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings, as well as IEEE Standards. Primarily focused on engineering, has some chemistry content.
Language: English
Keywords: Explore
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover biomedical and life sciences research using this search tool run by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, clinical trials, meta-anlayses, systematic reviews, books
Includes advanced search tools such as Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and the Clinical Queries feature. Personalized MyNCBI account features, such as email alerts, are only available by leaving the Library's instance of PubMed and accessing the resource through the open web site (pubmed.gov).
Language: English
Keywords: Pub Med

Browsing for articles and books

Another option for finding literature is browsing the physical shelves. Print materials are located on the first floor of Mudd, near the cafe. The following call numbers are:

Call #	Subject
QD1-999	Chemistry
QD1-65	General
QD71-142	Analytical
QD146-197	Inorganic
QD241-441	Organic
QD450-882	Physical & Theoretical
QD901-999	Crystallography