The dictionary covers every aspect of this multidisciplinary field, including sociolinguistics, language theory and history, language families, and major languages from all over the world (including major national/regional dialects), phonetics, formal semantics, and key figures and ideas in linguistics.
An encyclopedic reference work cataloging all of the world’s 6,909 known living languages
Print Linguistics Research Sources
Although resources dealing with linguistics can be found in many places
throughout the collections, call numbers beginning with P focus on major
linguistics topics. Browse this reference location in the library to find a
variety of interesting resources. Listed below is a selection of useful
reference resources. The HonRef books are on the third floor of the MultiTier Stack, adjacent to the search center..
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of
Language, by David Crystal.
HonRef P29 C64 1997
Encyclopedia of Communication
Theory, edited by Stephen W. Littlejohn and Karen A. Foss.
HonFol P87.5 E496 2009 v1-2
The Encyclopedia of Linguistics,
edited by Philipp Strazny.
HonRefFol P29 E483 2005 v1-2
Language and Communication: a
cross-cultural encyclopedia, by Michael Shaw Findlay.
HonRef P29 F47 1998
Linguistics: a guide to the
reference literature, by Anna L. DeMiller
HonRef Z7001 D45 2000
The Linguistics Encyclopedia,
edited by Kirsten Malmkjaer.
HonRef P29 L52 2002
The Oxford Handbook of Philosophy
of Language, edited by Ernest Lepore and Barry C. Smith.
Hon P107 O98 2006
Words on Words: quotations about
language and languages by David Crystal and Hilary Crystal.
HonRef P106 C765 2000
The World’s Major Languages, edited
by Bernard Comrie.