Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
To locate or browse books on Linguistics in the library
We use the Library of Congress Classification System to organize physical books in the library. The classification system uses letters at the beginning of the education call number to organize books by topic
Linguistics: P 2nd Level Mudd Multitier Stacks (some PE; PM)
Provides access to citations with abstracts for articles in psychology and the behavioral sciences. Includes articles on neurolinguistics, psycholinguistics, and sociolinguistics, as well as the cognitive, psychological, educational, and cultural aspects of language.
Go-to source of articles in biomedicine, biochemistry, and related medical fields. Search Medline, life science journals, and online books through the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). Many search results link to full-text articles in journals through library subscriptions.
This collection combines Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), the leading index for linguistics, with full-text for many titles. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
Fall 2022 Textbooks
Find your textbook and other course materials by searching in the Course Readings list using your professor's last name or course name.
When you are affiliated with a higher education institution, you have information privilege. That is, you have access to Library-subscribed scholarly content that is not freely available on the open web. Little known fact: this access usually ends when you graduate.
Led by academic libraries and information activists, the Open Access (OA) movement provides an alternative: a bridge to to open scholarship, no matter your institutional ties. OA expands the content that is available across access barriers, and is gaining ground in the scholarly community. As you engage in your research, try exploring the following OA repositories:
BASE is a vast cross-disciplinary international metasearch for OA content.
These and many other OA resources will be available to you after you leave the Claremont Colleges. For more information on hundreds of open content and open data repositories, check out the Scholarly Communications and Open Access guide.