Research Guides: Special Collections Bibliographies from Classes, Exhibits, & Events: History

Class Bibliographies, 2022-2023

Human Health and Disease in America
Primary sources spanning 1865 to 2020 on a variety of health and medical topics including 1918 influenza, AIDS, COVID-19, diet, Native Americans, smallpox, transexualism, and women's health and reproductive rights.

Human Health and Disease in America
Primary sources spanning 1865 to 2020 on a variety of health and medical topics including smallpox, 1918 Influenza, AIDS, transexualism, Native Americans, diet, hygiene, Women's health, mental health, and COVID-19.

1960s America
Materials from Denison Library and Special Collections which focus on the 1960s.
The Great War
Materials about World War I (1914-1918)
History of Africa to 1800
Manuscripts, maps, and travelers' accounts.

Early American Families
Materials date from 1609 to 1850 and focus on women's rights, juvenile literature, and other aspects of families.
Fords, Flappers & Fundamentalists
Primary source materials from 1920s America.
Human Health and Disease in American History
Primary sources spanning 1865 to 2014 on a variety of health and medical topics including smallpox, AIDS, transexualism, Native Americans, diet, hygiene, Women's health, and mental health.
Tattoos: Aesthetics, Cultures, Past
Materials span 1771 to 2007 and focus on indigenous peoples in North America to the South Pacific.

1960s America
America in Depression and War
Materials focus on Civilian Conservation Corps, Japanese American internment, women in the war industry, and World War II.
Asian American History: 1850 - present
Materials focus on Hawaii from early missionaries to post-annexation.
Capitalism in the Renaissance
Early modern books from 1450-1797, manuscripts, Lorenzo de' Medici letters, & parchment documents
Early American Families
Enlightenment
Diderot, Montesquieu, Richardson, and Rousseau
Introduction to Doing History & to Being an Historian
A focus on primary sources - a mix of books, pamphlets, and archival materials
The Mexican Revolution
José María Maytorena papers, Mexican newspapers, and books
Native American History
Race, Space, and Difference
Materials covering the history of Claremont and surrounding areas
Say it in a Letter
Used for PO ID1 class - lists both archival collections and online digital collections that hold a large amount of handwritten correspondence/letters.
The Science of Empire
Materials include: "book history", cartography, natural history, anthropology, geology, and botany.
Slavery: A World History
Tourism: Religious Pilgrimage to Extreme Adventure
Used for PO ID1 class - provides a sampling of materials related to "tourism" found in Special Collections.
Latino/a History
Books & archival materials covering Latino/a history with an emphasis on California

Collections & Collecting
Samples from "select" book collections: Bodman, Crispin, Hoover, Oxford, Wagner, and Wilson and "select" archival collections: Kruska, Miller, Nicgorski, Social Movements, and Voorhis.
First Person America
Materials include first person accounts (letters, diaries, memoirs) from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries, as well as materials related to the Revolutionary War, Alexander Hamilton, and the Founding Fathers.
The Histories of Los Angeles
History of the American West
Topics include early California, exploration and travels, Gold Rush and mining, Native Americans, tourism, and urbanization of the West.
Italian Renaissance: the Bodman Collection
Jane Austen’s Britain
Materials on the arts, politics, and culture
Native American History
Othello's Issue
How blackness gets constructed in the western imaginary
Race and Raciscm in Colonial Americas
Topics include Native Americans and Slavery
Revolutionary London and Paris
Materials focusing mainly on the Glorious Revolution (England, 1688) and the French Revolution (1789-99)
Rhetoric of Race and Rights
Slavery: A World History
Travelers & the Literary Imagination
Visual Evidence
Maps and atlases from 1511 to 1889.