Research Guides: Special Collections Bibliographies from Classes, Exhibits, & Events: California & the West

Class Bibliographies, 2018-2019

Nature, Culture and Society
Includes Yosemite guide books and photographic works, Native Americans, and archival collections used for an Environmental Analysis class

1960s America
Latino/a History
Books & archival materials covering Latino/a history with an emphasis on California
Native American History
Say it in a Letter
Used for PO ID1 class - lists both archival collections and online digital collections that hold a large amount of handwritten correspondence/letters.
Tourism: Religious Pilgrimage to Extreme Adventure
Used for PO ID1 class - provides a sampling of materials related to "tourism" found in Special Collections.

Advanced Fiction Writing
Focus on Los Angeles
Fast Cars and Giant Robots: Introduction to Asian American Popular Culture
Topics include Los Angeles maps, freeways, transportation issues, city planning; a few "future" or "robot" items; a few "utopia" items; and four road trip narratives (manuscripts).
The Histories of Los Angeles
History of the American West
Topics include early California, exploration and travels, Gold Rush and mining, Native Americans, tourism, and urbanization of the West.
Living with Animals and Among Wildlife
Books and prints by Audubon and others
Native American History
Race and Raciscm in Colonial Americas
Topics include Native Americans and Slavery
Rhetoric of Race and Rights
Visual Evidence
Maps and atlases from 1511 to 1889.
Water in the West