Research Guides: Cultural Studies: Getting Started

Welcome and Key Databases for Finding Sources

If you are new to conducting research:
Consider reviewing the Starting Your Research tutoria l to learn the phases and processes of doing research.

Start your cultural studies research with these key resources:

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main database of critical scholarship on all modern literatures and languages, also covering linguistics, folklore, film and media studies.
Content type: Scholarly articles, books, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1963-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Russian, etc.
Keywords: Modern Language Association
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
A great database for beginning research in art, anthropology, architecture, urban planning, literature, and cultural studies.
Language: English, Spanish, French, Turkish, and German, etc.
Keywords: Full Text
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary indexed database containing full text for nearly 4,700 publications, including more than 3,600 peer-reviewed publications.
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
This is a unique database that includes articles, books, and dissertations on the culture and history of the United States.
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
A great database for beginning research on topics in anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many other disciplines in the social sciences.
Language: English

Related research guides

Art & Art History
by Kendra Macomber Last Updated Jul 30, 2024 584 views this year
Gender/ Feminist/ Sexuality/ Women's/ Queer Studies
by Nazia Islam Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 125 views this year
Government Information
by Mary Martin Last Updated Aug 27, 2024 243 views this year
Media Studies
by Andrea Ketterer Last Updated Sep 11, 2024 97 views this year
Sociology
by Dieter Mackenbach Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 72 views this year

Interdisciplinary Studies Librarian

Nazia Islam

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services - The Claremont Colleges Library

Subjects: Africana Studies, Anthropology, Chicanx / Latinx Studies, Cultural Studies, Gender / Feminist / Sexuality / Women's Studies, Jewish Studies, Native American / Indigenous Studies, Religious Studies