Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
The most authoritative and up-to-date dictionary of critical theory available, covering the Frankfurt school, cultural materialism, cultural studies, gender studies, film studies, literary theory, hermeneutics, historical materialism, Internet studies, and sociopolitical critical theory.
Through a series of well-judged and historically nuanced readings of cultural, social theory and critical philosophy, this book provides just the bridge between cultural studies and wider debates that we need.
Contains encyclopedia entries on topics such as art & architecture, classics, food & drink, history, literature, performing arts, religion and philosophy.
Bilingual dictionaries offer translations between English and French, German, Irish, Italian, Latin, Spanish, and Welsh.
Why search here? Search here for annotated bibliographies combined with encyclopedia articles to get started finding key sources across a wide range of humanities and social sciences topics.
A great database for beginning research on topics in anthropology, sociology, psychology, political science and many other disciplines in the social sciences.
The primary database for black studies, including scholarly essays, recent periodicals, and historical newspaper articles.
Includes full-text of The Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the online index to Black Literature (1827-1940), the Black Studies Periodicals Database, and the content from the African American Biographical Database.
Complete full-text content of local and regional news. Includes Los Angeles Times. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Includes historical and current content for the Sacremento Bee, the San Diego Union Tribune, and the San Francisco Chronicle. Paid advertisements are excluded.
Includes full text of: Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005), Chatelaine (1928 to 2005), Cosmopolitan (1965-1993), Essence (1970-1977), Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005), Ladies’ Home Journal (1883 to 2005), Parents (1926 to 2005), Redbook (1903 to 2005), Seventeen (1970-2003), Women’s Day (1937-2001)
Full digitization of the magazine, meaning all articles, illustrations, and advertisements are included. Full text of: Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005), Chatelaine (1928 to 2005), Cosmopolitan (1926-2004), Essence (1970-2005), Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005), Ladies' Home Journal (1885 to 2005), Parents (1926 to 2005), Redbook (1903 to 2005), Seventeen (1944-2005), WIN News (1975-2003), and Women's Day (1937-2001).
Includes approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writings such as monographs, letters, speeches, interviews, etc. by major figures in Black America, covering 250 years of history.
Language: English
Art and images:
ARTstor
Digital library of over 1 million art images; includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design.
Contains more than 500,000 images from the Associated Press current collections and archives. Photographs include those of historical figures, political leaders, sports greats, and celebrities. There are also images from significant news and features events of the 20th century, such as World War II, civil rights, the fall of Communism in Eastern Europe, and space exploration.
Language: English
Keywords: AP
Dissertations
Graduate dissertations and theses are excellent sources for scholarship in cultural studies. Be advised, though, that they are not peer-reviewed.
Why search here? Search here for master's and doctoral theses and dissertations from academic institutions around the world.
Content type: Dissertations and theses, bibliographies
Coverage dates: 1637-present
Most coverage comes from North American institutions. Many are full-text. Records show cited references, other publications with shared references, and later publications citing the work.
Language: English, Turkish, Chinese, French, Spanish, additional European languages
Why search here? Find theses and dissertations from Claremont Colleges students.
Content type: Dissertations and theses
Some theses/dissertations are open and available for anyone to read, while others have embargoed access to the full text or are only available on a campus IP range.
Dictionary of Critical Theory (2nd ed.) by 
