This guide is designed to help Claremont Colleges students, faculty and staff find and use resources for research in Pacific Islander Studies. Since this subject is interdisciplinary, consider reviewing research guides in other subjects, which you can find listed below.
Use the menu on the left-hand side to navigate this guide.
If you are new to conducting research:
Consider taking the Start Your Research tutorial to better understand the phases and processes of doing research.
Start your Pacific Islander Studies research with these key resources:
Bibliographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks can provide you with background information for topics in Pacific Islander Studies. Use Library Search to begin find additional sources. If you need further assistance, please feel free to contact a librarian to set up an appointment.
Selected sources for Background Information:
Encyclopedia of the Peoples of Asia and Oceania by 
The Routledge Companion to Asian American and Pacific Islander Literature by 
The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music: Australia and the Pacific islands by 
The Pacific islands : an encyclopedia by 
The Routledge Handbook of Bioarchaeology in Southeast Asia and the Pacific Islands by 
The Pacific Island Studies by 
Oxford Encyclopedia of Asian American Literature and Culture by
More than one hundred original and in-depth articles survey the historical foundations of this rich field, showing the exciting and profound new directions that currently drive the study of Asian American literary and cultural traditions. Include literary works from the late-19th century to the 21st century.
Asian American Society: An Encyclopedia by
An introduction to the wide-ranging and fast-developing field of Asian American studies. More than 300 articles authored by experts in the field, organized in A-to-Z format. A core collection of primary documents and key demographic and social science data. A Reader's Guide groups related entries by broad topic areas and themes; a Glossary defines key terms; and a Resource Guide provides lists of books, academic journals, websites and cross references.
You may also want to consult research guides in other fields.
