Research Guides: Pacific Islander Studies: Locating Scholarly Articles & Books

Article and Book Databases

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Useful for anthropological and historical research concerning the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books
Coverage dates: 1914-present
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main index for scholarship in early modern to present day World History, excluding United States and Canadian history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations and theses, books
Coverage dates: 1953-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, etc.
Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for research on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide in Western languages.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, book chapters, conference proceedings
Coverage dates: 1971-present
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for finding scholarly articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology from two major disciplinary databases, Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature.
Content type: Scholarly articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, obituaries
Coverage dates: 1700s- present
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, etc.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for sociology with international coverage of the social and behavioral sciences.
Content type: Abstracts, scholarly articles, books, trade journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations and theses
Coverage dates: 1952-present
Language: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP

Advanced Library Search
Provides access to resources owned by The Claremont Colleges Library, and to millions of resources from libraries worldwide that we do not own. In addition to physical materials housed in the library, Library Search also provides access to online sources (e-books, articles, dissertations, and streaming video and audio).