Anti-racism & Black Lives Matter Resources

Call To Action for 7Cs to demand that The Claremont Colleges systemically addresses the needs of Black students.

Angela Davis was hired as a part time lecturer at the Black Studies Center at The Claremont Colleges for the year 1975-1976. Davis taught one two-part seminar entitled, "Black Women and the Development of the Black Community".

Includes records of the Black Studies Center between 1968 to 1976.

National Endowment for the Humanities (Division of Education Programs) grant funded a Black Studies-Chicano Studies Oral History Project during the Spring and Fall semesters of 1973. The joint Project was devised to: provide college students with fieldwork experience through the use of the oral history technique: to retain raw primary data from “old-timers” among the Black and Chicano communities that otherwise might be lost; and to develop a permanent collection of tapes and interview manuscripts as a resource for present and future researchers.

The Claremont Activism Archive collects documentation about activist activities of the students, faculty, staff, and community of The Claremont Colleges. It was started in Scripps Professor Anne Harley's Fall 2016 Core 3: "Mobilizing Art", as a class project. Its establishment was intended as a direct response to student demands in 2015-16 to document the history of activism at the Claremont Colleges.

This collection contains the coursework produced by students of the Claremont Colleges' oral history classes. Currently, the collection contains materials from the oral history courses at Claremont Graduate University. Themes for the courses in the collection include "Women in Claremont" and "Women of Color in Southern California."

Collection consists of documents from a variety of departments within Pitzer College including but not limited to Admissions, Registrar's Office, Financial Aid, and the President's Office. Of particular interest are files about the Black Studies Center and Black studies, photos of the student sit-in at Pendleton Business Office, and oral histories centered on the Black experience at Pitzer College.

The Claremont Colleges Photo Archive features digitized photos from the Pitzer History Project of students staging a sit-in on May 6, 1975, outside Pendleton Business Building. The protests were in support of continued funding for the Black and Chicano Studies Center Pre-Freshman program at the colleges.

David Alexander served as Pomona College’s seventh President from 1969 to 1991. His tenure ushered in an era of increased ethnic diversity amongst the Pomona College student body, but also one in which the administration had to address calls for social change and navigate periods of civil unrest. This collection features materials that focus on student activism, protests, and demonstrations from 1969 to 1985, student organizations focusing on social change, and the Black and Chicano Studies Center.

The Connie Martinson Talks Books Collection consists of more than 2,500 television interviews with prominent authors of fiction and nonfiction taped over the last 30 years. Included in the collection are interviews with Maya Angelou, Rosa Parks, Barack Obama, and Terry McMillan.

Gloria Oden was an American poet, editor and retired professor of English. She was nominated for the Pulitzer Prize in 1979 for Resurrections, a collection of poems that responded to the unsolved murder of her mother and sister in their home in Washington, D.C

This collection is made up of various materials from differing social movements throughout the 20th century. Especially in the 1960s, a boom of social movements erupted across the globe and in the United States formed by groups of people feeling frustrated with the continued oppression and lack of recognition throughout the course of history. There are materials from the Black Civil Rights Movement, Chicano Movement, the United Farm Workers, the Young Lords Movement, and surrounding the events of the Zoot Suit riots in Los Angeles, including photographs, banners, posters, Chicano art, and tattoo designs.