Special Collections Access Guide

Search Tips

• Browse collections of interest by selecting a collection. Each collection landing page offers an overview and a browse feature. After clicking the "Browse" button, you can change your results to include up to 200 items per page making it easy to scroll and discover.
• Search for specific topics or types of material by using Advanced Search:
  • Try searching your keyword with the "All Fields" option
  • Too many results? Try searching your keyword by "Title," "Subject," or "Description"
  • You can also limit your search by collection

If you find images of interest in the Claremont Colleges Digital Library (CCDL), you can download them directly from the website to your computer.

1. Click the download icon (a down arrow above a rectangle) in the upper right corner of the page.

Please note that download menu options may differ based on the item type.

2. Select a download size (small, medium, or large).

3. Save the file directly to your device or to a flash drive.

When you discover an item of interest in the Claremont Colleges Digital Library (CCDL), follow the steps below to request materials to consult it in the Reading Room or place a photoduplication request. You can make your own copies at no cost in the Reading Room using non-flash photography or our high-quality rare book scanner.

1. Log into your Special Collections Account from the Special Collections homepage. If you have not registered for an account, you will be prompted to register.

2. While logged in, navigate to the item of interest in the CCDL.

3. Click on the “Request Item” dropdown button and choose a request option.

• Select Request for Reading Room to consult the item in the Reading Room.
• Select Request Copy to request digital scans. Please see our Request a Copy section for details on formats and fees.

You will be directed to the request form where you will see the item information in the form fields.

4. Complete the request form.

a. If you selected Request for Reading Room, scroll down to schedule a new appointment or select an existing one before submitting your request.

a. If you selected Request Copy, scroll down to enter your preferred order specifications.

5. Click the “Submit Request” button.

After submitting your request, you will see a confirmation message. The item will also be listed in your “My Requests” list.

Visit our Ask Special Collections page for additional questions and assistance.