Special Collections holds more than 11,000 linear feet of a diverse array of literary and historical manuscripts, personal papers, and college archives. This page offers resources and step-by-step instructions to help you navigate these vast collections. If you have questions along the way, please Ask Special Collections.
Archives are vibrant places where the first-hand materials of human history are actively collected, preserved, managed, and made accessible. The word "archives" can refer to collections of historical records, the place where they are stored and used, or the organization responsible for them. In under three minutes, learn more about different types of archives, what archivists do, who can use archives, what is missing from them, and why they are valuable.
A finding aid is a guide to an archival collection. It provides basic information about what a collection contains and how it is organized. This brief "Introduction to a Finding Aid" video will introduce you to a finding aid and how to use one.
When you come across an item or collection of interest in the Online Archive of California, follow the steps below to request materials to consult in the Reading Room or place a copy/scan request. You can make your own copies at no cost in the Reading Room using non-flash photography or our high-quality rare book scanner.
1. Log into your Special Collections Account from the Special Collections homepage. If you have not registered for an account, you will be prompted to register.
2. While logged in, navigate to the collection guide (also known as a finding aid). Click on the “Request items” button.
3. On the Finding Aid Requests page, scroll down to Contents List and click on the desired series title. Make your selections from the series and subseries dropdown menus.
Please note:
5. One you have made your selections, scroll down to select your request type.
a. If you select Schedule Appointment, you have the option to schedule a new appointment or select an existing one before submitting your request.
b. If you select Request Photoduplication, you will be asked for preferred order specifications. Please see our Request Copies information for details on formats and fees.
6. Click the “Submit Request” button.
After submitting your request, you will see a confirmation message. The item will also be listed in your “My Requests” list.
Visit our Ask Special Collections page for additional questions and assistance.
When you find an item of interest in Archives at TCC, follow these steps to request it for consultation in the Reading Room or for photoduplication. You can make your own copies at no cost in the Reading Room using non-flash photography or our high-quality rare book scanner.
1. Click on the title of the collection.
2. Read about the collection and browse the collection organization for series and folder details. If there is no collection organization or inventory, make a manual request from your Special Collections Account dashboard.
3. Click on a folder or series within the collection.
4. Click on the Aeon Request button in the top, right hand corner of the screen.
5. Choose the appropriate login option. If you do not have an account, you will be prompted to register.
Once logged into your account, you will see the item information in the form fields (if you just created an account, you will need to return to the collection and click the request button again).
6. Select the item by clicking the box to the left of the request details.
5. Schedule an appointment or select an existing appointment. If you would like to submit a photoduplication request, click the Request Copy button.
6. Click the “Submit Request” button.
After submitting your request, you will see a confirmation message. The item will also be listed in your “My Requests” list.
Visit our Ask Special Collections page for additional questions and assistance.
