Research Guides: Community & Global Health: Get Started

Key Resources

This guide is intended to connect you to a variety of resources useful for conducting research. Use the menu on the left-hand side to navigate through the sections.

To find books or articles we own, or to see what we have on a particular topic, use Library Search on the Library's website.

Alt HealthWatch

Why search here? Good for scholarly sources relating to holistic and non-western approaches to health care and wellness.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, pamphlets, booklets, special reports
Coverage dates: 1984-present

Language: English
JSTOR

Why search here? Search here for scholarly content in the humanities and social sciences in a major database that many students are familiar with from high school.
Content type: Journal articles, eBooks, images, primary sources

Many journals include only backfiles and do not include current content. Use other databases to find the most recent issues of these journals.
Language: English, French, German, Spanish
PubMed

Why search here? Discover biomedical and life sciences research using this search tool run by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, clinical trials, meta-anlayses, systematic reviews, books

Includes advanced search tools such as Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and the Clinical Queries feature. Personalized MyNCBI account features, such as email alerts, are only available by leaving the Library's instance of PubMed and accessing the resource through the open web site (pubmed.gov).
Language: English
Keywords: Pub Med
Web of Science

Why search here? Great for discovering scholarly research across a wide array of subject areas, primarily published in high-impact (highly cited) journals in the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, book chapters
Coverage dates: 1965-present

Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Text Mining: Allowed; only through Clarivate APIs
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge

STEM Librarian

Katie Kohn

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Research, Teaching, & User Services
The Claremont Colleges Library

909 621-8867

Subjects: Botany, Chemistry, Engineering, Geology, Neuroscience, Physics & Astronomy, Public Health