Research Guides: Media Studies: Find Media Criticism & Reviews

Reference and Background Materials

AFI Catalog This link opens in a new window
A national filmography documenting the history of American cinema. Covers the years 1893-1974 comprehensively, with additional records covering selected major films from 1975 onwards. A key resource for the research, study and teaching of film.
Film Index International This link opens in a new window
Basic information on films from the silent era - present. Complied by the British Film Institute.

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Search this multi-disciplinary databases to find articles about film, television and media studies.
Also includes media reviews.
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
Citations and full text of journal articles in the arts and humanities.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Citations and full-text film criticism, 1970 - present.
Humanities Full Text This link opens in a new window
Citations and links to full text for articles in the humanities from 1985-present.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Search this database for scholarly articles, books, dissertations and more about film and television.
Be advised that reviews are not included.
OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Search this multidisciplinary database to find journal articles in film, television, and media studies.
Media reviews are included.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Search this databases to find popularly and scholarly articles related to the performing arts

View complete list of databases relevant to media studies:

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Includes movie and television reviews. Search the most important words in the title ("Simpsons" or "Sopranos") and (left column) Limit to Source type REVIEW.
OmniFile This link opens in a new window
Includes movie and television reviews. Search the most important words in the title ("Simpsons" or "Hamlet" or "Sopranos") and (left column) Limit to Source type REVIEW.
Los Angeles Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
Full page scans of the newspaper, 1881-1992.
New York Times, Historical This link opens in a new window
Full page scans of the newspaper, 1851-2012.

Film Review Index
Call Number: HON REF PN1995.M9 F513 1986
ISBN: 0897741536
Index to film reviews from 1882-1985

Film Scripts Online, Volume 1 This link opens in a new window
Over 1,100 authorized versions of copyrighted film scripts. Scripts from Warner Bros., Sony, RKO, MGM, and other major film studios; rights holders such as Faber & Faber, Newmarket Press, Penguin Putnam, StudioCanal, and Vintage Anchor are available, 1900-2000s.
Readers' Guide This link opens in a new window
Citations and links full text of articles from over 250 major popular magazines and periodicals from 1890-present.

Newspaper and News Sources
Complete list of newspaper databases through the library.

Academic Video Online Premium This link opens in a new window
Documentaries, interviews, feature films, performances, news programs and newsreels, demonstrations, and raw footage across many subject areas.
All videos allow for an unlimited number of simultaneous viewers.
Films on Demand Master Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
Educational titles, documentaries, archival films and performances from international producers across 26 core subject areas. New content regularly added. Unlimited, simultaneous access
Films on Demand World Cinema Collection This link opens in a new window
International films from the mid-20th century.