Skip to main content
COVID-19 UPDATE: CURBSIDE PICKUP AND MAILING NOW AVAILALABLE
Library building closed except for Connection. See COVID-19 Service Updates and Resources

Geology

Find Your Textbook

Find your textbook and other course materials by searching in the Course Readings list using your professor's last name or course name.

If you do not see your textbook listed, then your professor may not have asked the Library to place the item on course reserves. Please reach out to your Subject Librarian to get more help with finding the item you need. 

Geology Call Numbers

To search for eBooks, articles, media and more - use Library Search - the search field on the library homepage.

The Claremont Colleges Library use the Library of Congress Classification System to organize physical books in the library. Our science section can be found on the first (1st) floor of the Honnold side of the building.

LC Subclasses for Geology Subjects:

  • Geology: call numbers beginning with QE1-996.5
  • General geology Including geographical divisions: call numbers beginning with QE1-350.62
  • Mineralogy: call numbers beginning with QE351-399.2
  • Petrology: call numbers beginning with QE420-499
  • Dynamic and structural geology: call numbers beginning with QE500-639.5
  • Volcanoes and earthquakes: call numbers beginning with QE521-545
  • Structural geology: call numbers beginning with QE601-613.5
  • Stratigraphy: call numbers beginning with QE640-699
  • Paleontology: call numbers beginning with QE701-760
  • Paleozoology: call numbers beginning with QE760.8-899.2
  • Paleobotany: call numbers beginning with QE901-996.5

Learn to Search Like a Scholar

Are you struggling with searching and want to learn more effective strategies? Take an easy 10-minute Library tutorial to learn how to search like a scholar! Reduce your stress when searching and quickly learn techniques that will equip you for life.

After completing the tutorial, you'll know:

  • Why search strategies are necessary
  • Foundational search strategies
  • How to break your topic down into keywords for effective searches
  • How to apply the operators AND, OR, NOT, asterisk, and quotation marks, in your searches to produce more relevant results
  • How to revise your search based on the results

START THE TUTORIAL NOW!

How to Evaluate Your Sources

undefined

Academic Databases

The databases below can help you find primary and secondary literature in the sciences. While searching, you can narrow your results to primary literature, ebooks and more.

View the Database Directory for on-going updates to our subscriptions.

eBook Collections

Find more eBooks in our collections by using Library Search (search field on Library homepage). Be sure to apply The Claremont Colleges Library filter and filter again by eBook format. Find all eBook Collections by going to the Library Homepage > Databases > Databases by Format > eBooks.

If you don't find your item in our collections, you may also fill out an online form to Suggest We Purchase an eBook or contact your Subject Librarian.

 

Reference Materials

Use Reference materials to get background and general information on your topics. Find all eBook Collections by going to the Library Homepage > Databases > Databases by Format > Reference Sources.

 

Journals

The Claremont Colleges Library has both print and ejournal collections. Search for journals by going to the Library homepage and clicking on Journals. You can search by ISSN, title or even acronym and also browse by subject and title.   


Core Geology Journals

 

Open Access Resources

What is Open Access?

The term Open Access, also known as OA, refers to the free and unrestricted online access and publication of research such as journal articles and books. This type of content is open to everyone with no access restrictions or fees.

Visit Open Content on the Library website to learn more about browser extensions and Deep Web searching techniques you can use in the World Wide Web. You will also find additional open access resources throughout this guide. 


 

Archival Primary Sources

A primary sources is a first-hand, original account, record, or evidence about a person, place, object, or an event.

This may include, but is not limited to, oral histories, objects, photographs, and documents such as newspapers, ledgers, census records, diaries, journals, and inventories, rare books, graphs, charts, data and more. 


 

News & Newspaper Resources

Browse all of our Newspaper Resources by going to the Library homepage > Databases > Databases by Format > Newspapers & News Sources.


 

Film & Video

STEM Librarian

Kimberly Jackson's picture
Kimberly Jackson

Contact:
Claremont Colleges Library