Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Library is now open for students, staff, and faculty of The Claremont Colleges. See COVID-19 Services and Updates for more information.

COVID Response: Temporary & Open Resources

Disclaimer

Please note that these resources have been opened (with some limitations) temporarily by the vendors and publishers in order to help reduce the impact COVID-19 has on academic communities and access to information at and through Libraries. Continued and on-going access may not be guaranteed, and you may eventually lose access or hit a paywall (What is a paywall?).

Educational Resource Offers from Vendors and Publishers

  • Artfilms Artfilms is offering new customers a flat rate of US$500 for access to our streaming content until the end of September 2020. We made it easy: the sooner you sign up, the longer your subscription. Unlimited Access will be provided to up to 2000 titles available in your country. Authentication by IP address, EZ Proxy, Login & password and/or barcode. We will help to identify titles relevant to your reading list / art courses.
     
  • Chinese language e-resources & databases A list of free Chinese language and Chinese Studies databases to support teaching and learning during the pandemic. This information was compiled in collaboration with the vendors and publishers listed as well as The Committee for Chinese Materials, Council on East Asian Libraries.
     
  • Cengage (eBooks) If your campus has been closed due to COVID-19, your students on US campuses get a free subscription to Cengage Unlimited through the remainder of the term, which gives them access to all Cengage ebooks and platforms. Please click here for more information on how to set that up.
     
  • Digital Concert Hall - Berlin Philharmonic Enjoy our Digital Concert Hall for free for 30 days. Just copy & paste the code BERLINPHIL at https://digitalconcerthall.com/tickets. The Philharmonie Berlin is closed until 19 April to help contain the coronavirus. But the orchestra will continue to play for you – in the Digital Concert Hall. The Berliner Philharmoniker invite you to visit their virtual concert hall free of charge.
     
  • HathiTrust HathiTrust is opening up access to their e-content by providing fair use access to content only to affiliated users of member libraries, which includes The Claremont Colleges Library. Only TCC students, staff, and faculty may be provided with access. Alumni or other courtesy user groups do not qualify for temporary emergency access. Access to these resources will be available after a testing period (last update from HathiTrust - March 24, 2020). 
     
  • IMF eLibrary (International Monetary Fund) Current and historical economic time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators some back to 1940. Manuals, guides, and other material available. Also full text access to all eBooks, journals, and working papers.
     
  • Internet Archive IA is suspending wait-lists through June 30, 2020 so users can dive into any of their 1.4 million books without waiting. This means multiple simultaneous access to all of their digitized books. They have also launched a National Emergency Library which is a collection of books that support emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation. 
     
  • Met On Demand The Metropolitan Opera announced that it would stream encore presentations from the award-winning Live in HD series of cinema transmissions on the company website for the duration of the closure. The new offering will begin on Monday, March 16 with the 2010 HD performance of Bizet’s Carmen. All “Nightly Met Opera Streams” will begin at 7:30pm and will remain available via the homepage of metopera.org for 20 hours. The homepage link will open the performance on the Met Opera on Demand streaming service. The performance will also be viewable on all Met Opera on Demand apps.
     
  • OCLC OCLC is maintaining a growing list of freely available content, which includes recommended options to access sources through OCLC services. Downloadable spreadsheet that is updated regularly.​
     
  • On the Boards.TV Free 48 hour access to all performances available through their site.
    The films featured on the website include international and US-based contemporary artists, some of whom are rarely seen live stateside, with works that might not be performed again. We work with our hand-picked film crew to capture live performances, edit collaboratively with the artists, and deliver the best possible video performance straight to you. All proceeds are shared with the artist, so each time you buy or rent a film, you put money directly in an artist’s pocket.
     
  • Ovid, Wolters Kluwer  Access provided to specific resources through July 30th. Includes LWW Health Library (Premium Basic Sciences, Clerkship, Board Review Series, Internal Medicine, Physician Assistant, Core and Specialties/Rotations, Exercise Science, Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Premium Pharmacy, Advanced Practice Nursing, Nursing Made Incredibly Easy). Firecracker, Acland’s Atlas of Human Anatomy, Bates Visual Guide and 5 Minute Clinical Consult.
     
  • Oxford University Press At Oxford University Press, we understand the challenges of building an online course, even in the best of circumstances. Whether you are an adopter of an Oxford University Press text or not, we can help you. Below are a number of free resources that will help you and your students experience as little disruption as possible as you move to online teaching and learning.
     
  • Paris Art Museum Paris Musées, a collection of 14 museums in Paris have recently made high-res digital copies of 100,000 artworks freely available to the public on their collections website. Artists with works in the archive include Rembrandt, Monet, Picasso, Cézanne, and thousands of others.
     
  • ProQuest Ebook Central Coronavirus-Impacted Libraries get Unlimited Access to Ebook Central Holdings. Starting next week, ProQuest Ebook Central customers impacted by COVID-19 will get unlimited access to all owned titles from these publishers through mid-June. This means that all licenses – including single-user and three-user models – will automatically convert to unlimited access during that period, helping librarians bridge the gap for their patrons in this rapidly changing environment. The unlimited access also applies to additional titles purchased through mid-June. No action is required by librarians to switch on unlimited access – this will be done automatically, and the transition will be seamless for users. Participating Publishers
     
  • VitalSource VitalSource® has joined leading publishers to help ensure students affected by the COVID-19 pandemic will have free access to quality digital learning materials through the remainder of the Spring 2020 semester. Beginning March 16 through May 25, 2020, access to an expansive catalog of eTexts will be available for free to students at semester-calendar institutions who have been impacted by recent campus closures. Students simply log in to the VitalSource Bookshelf app using their school email address and can then view course materials from participating publishers via VitalSource’s Explore capabilities within Bookshelf. Click here for a full list of publishers, but include APA, Cengage Learning, MacMillian Learning, Pearson Education, Wiley, and many more. Students who need assistance accessing free eTexts can visit: VitalSource Student Support

Open Access Collections

Open access resources have been available long before and will continue to be available after the COVID-19 crisis.

What is Open Access? | What is an OER Textbook?


  • BioMed Central Part of Springer/Nature, BMC publishes open access journals in science and medicine.
     
  • Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format.
     
  • DOAB DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) provides open access to over 854 Academic peer-reviewed books from 25 publishers.
     
  • DOAJ DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) is a collection of peer-reviewed open access e-journals
     
  • Google Books Find the perfect book for your purposes and discover new ones that interest you.
     
  • Hathi Trust Digital Library a repository providing access to public domain and in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
     
  • Internet Archive The Internet Archive offers over 20,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 1.3 million modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.
     
  • JSTOR Open Access Books More than 6,000 Open Access ebooks from 75+ publishers, including Brill, Cornell University Press, De Gruyter, and University of California Press, are now available at no cost to libraries or users.
     
  • NCBI Bookshelf provides free online access to ebooks and documents in life sciences and healthcare.
     
  • Open Access on Project Muse Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books and journals from several distinguished university presses and scholarly societies. Through our open access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content that ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These books and journals are freely available to libraries and users around the world.
     
  • PLOS (Public Library of Science) Open access e-journals in science and medicine.
     
  • Poverty and the Impact of COVID-19: The Blue-Marble Health Approach by Peter J. Hotez eBook published through Project Muse. Open Educational Resource.
     
  • Project Gutenberg Project Gutenberg is a library of over 60,000 free eBooks. Choose among free ePub and Kindle eBooks, download them or read them online. You will find the world's great literature here, with focus on older works for which U.S. copyright has expired. Thousands of volunteers digitized and diligently proofread the eBooks, for enjoyment and education.
     
  • Project Muse Open access eJournals and ebooks from university presses and scholarly societies.
     
  • Standard Ebooks The Standard Ebooks project is a volunteer driven, not-for-profit effort to produce a collection of high quality, carefully formatted, accessible, open source, and free public domain ebooks that meet or exceed the quality of commercially produced ebooks. The text and cover art in our ebooks is already believed to be in the public domain, and Standard Ebook dedicates its own work to the public domain, thus releasing whole ebooks files themselves into the public domain.

Technology Offers

  • Adobe Connect Adobe Connect is a web conferencing platform that enables collaborative experiences that include video, audio, screen-sharing, polls, chat, Q&A, document sharing and much more. There's nothing for participants to install or configure, Adobe Connect works in any modern browser. Starting this week, Adobe is providing free 90-day access for Adobe Connect, until July 1st, 2020. Individuals and business who aren’t customers can now use Adobe Connect rooms with up-to 25 participants for free for up to 90 days if they sign-up for a trial license between now and July 1st.
     
  • Kahoot! Premium Kahoot! Premium for the rest of the year. An admin will need to email (eilert.hanoa@team.kahoot.com) with the number of educators at your school, and they’ll get you set up.
     
  • Lumen Open Education Resource Amid all this disruption and uncertainty, the Lumen Learning Team stands ready to assist with any rapid transition institutions and educators may be making to online learning, in order to reduce risk and slow the pace of transmission. Lumen courseware is designed to help at-risk students succeed in digital environments, and we want to make our learning tools and team readily available wherever we may be helpful. We’re taking the following steps to help institutions resolve problems and get students through this term successfully.
  • Macmillian Learning LaunchPad, Sapling, FlipIt, iClicker & Lab Sims - are free until July 1 for impacted customers using our print books.
     
  • McGraw-Hill McGraw-Hill Connect and ALEKS, available free to any student and instructor who needs it for the remainder of this Spring 2020 term.
     
  • Oxford University Press - teaching activities Now through the end of this term, we are offering a wealth of free resources and access so that you and your students will experience as little disruption as possible.
     
  • Poll Everywhere For educators currently on a free version of our software, please reach out to their support team who will enable the 90-day premium plan.
     
  • SoftChalk SoftChalk, the education company that provides the premier online lesson creation and student interaction tool, is offering assistance to academic institutions and organizations to help educators meet the demands created by school closings and the temporary shift to online course delivery during the COVID-19 threat. SoftChalk is offering free access to SoftChalk Cloud from now through May 31, 2020 to anyone who may need it to quickly and easily create online lessons and course materials for delivery to students.
     
  • TechSmith Snagit TechSmith Snagit will be provided for free to organizations through June 30th, 2020. Snagit is our screen capture and recording tool that lets users quickly create and share images and videos to create training content, tutorials, lessons and step-by-step instructions; Record meetings and presentations, including your webcam to keep a personal element; Create how to training materials, software walkthroughs, and demos; Pre-record academic lectures or supplemental learning content to share with students; Create instructions on how to use online learning platforms, or remote working software.
     
  • TechSmith SnagIt Resource Guide TechSmith has put together a resource guide for learning how to use visuals and video to communicate better when working, teaching, or learning remotely.

COVID-19 Updates

  • American Society for Microbiology Freely available material about COVID-19
     
  • BioOne Peer-reviewed scholarly research and research libraries are trusted guides during times of scientific uncertainty. As the world navigates the COVID-19 pandemic, BioOne is proud to share the wealth of relevant content from our publishing partners to provide support for those working on solutions for this global crisis. In collaboration with the Association of Research Libraries, BioOne and our publishers have made articles related to coronavirus in the following journals available via open access through 2020
     
  • BioRxiv The preprint server for biology. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.
     
  • The Chronicle of Higher Education As the crisis deepens, The Chronicle is providing free access to our breaking-news updates. We invite you to explore our complete coverage of the coronavirus, including other tools and resources you might find useful.
  • Duke University Press In support and solidarity, we are providing free access to the following books and journal articles to help build knowledge and understanding of how we navigate the spread of communicable diseases.
     
  • Elsevier Elsevier's free health and medical research on novel coronavirus (COVID-19).
     
  • JAMA (Journal of the American Medical Assoc.) Network The JAMA Network is providing a COVID-19 collection, including Q&As with NIAID's Anthony Fauci, an interactive map of the outbreak courtesy of John Hopkins Center for Systems Science and Engineering, and past publications on vaccine development, infection control and public health preparedness.
     
  • JoVE JoVE is offering free access to an extensive STEM education video library to help remote educators. They also are providing a Coronavirus Free Access Resource Center. This link will give you more information about how to access their content.
     
  • Libraries Respond: Combating Xenophobia and Fake News in light of COVID-19 As the American Library Association (ALA) continues to track the development of the coronavirus, racial fears and anxieties have become a dominant frame in which people evaluate concerns over the ongoing COVID-19 coronavirus infection. Additionally, the World Health Organization has described the secondary issue of an infodemic, which they define as “an overabundance of information — some accurate and some not — that makes it hard for people to find trustworthy sources and reliable guidance when they need it.” This page includes selected resources for learning the facts about Coronavirus and examples of how libraries are interrupting not only the spread of misinformation but also related racism and xenophobia.
     
  • MedRxiv The preprint server for health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not been peer-reviewed. They should not be relied on to guide clinical practice or health-related behavior and should not be reported in news media as established information.
     
  • NEJM (New England Journal of Medicine) A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary. All Journal content related to the Covid-19 pandemic is freely available.
     
  • OVID Publishers OVID publishing has put together a site with all of the most recent publications on COVID-19 in one place. Most of the articles are open access, but there seem to be a few that require a subscription.
     
  • Oxford University Press Oxford University Press has made content from online resources and leading journals freely accessible to assist researchers, medical professionals, policy makers, and others who are working to address this potential health crisis.
     
  • Sage Publishing Research related to coronavirus is freely available on SAGE Journals. A full list of the open articles includes research both in science, technology, and medicine and in the social and behavioral sciences. SAGE will continue to make new research available related to the virus as it is published.
     
  • Springer Nature Springer Nature is committed to supporting the global response to emerging outbreaks by enabling fast and direct access to the latest available research, evidence, and data.
     
  • Wiley Online Library As a publisher of trusted health science, we’ve made the relevant research articles, book chapters and entries in our major references freely available below, in support of the global efforts in diagnosis, treatment, prevention and further research in this disease and similar viral respiratory infections. In addition to the articles on this site related to the current outbreak, Wiley is also making a collection of journal articles and our book chapters on coronavirus research freely available to the global scientific community. On workdays, newly published articles are made free within 24 hours of publication. Articles published after 14:00 (EST) on Friday will be made free the following Monday.