Research Guides: Asian Film Studies: Find Films

Find films online

Use the search box at the Library's homepage to search for DVDs and related books.

You can also use the following databases to get access to online archives and streaming videos:

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore a variety of videos across a breadth of subject areas, including international films, documentaries, archival films, educational titles, and performances.
Content type: Documentaries, performances, interviews, newsreels, primary sources
Includes the Mater Academic Collection and the World Cinema Collection.
Language: English, Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Spanish
Fox Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Watch feature films from a variety of genres, such as dramas, comedies, science fiction, documentaries, and literary adaptions.
Content type: Videos
Language: English
Independent World Cinema: Classic and Contemporary Film This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for finding streaming videos of independent U.S. and international documentary and feature films.
Content type: Documentary films, feature films
Coverage dates: 1915-present
Language: English, French, Russian, Spanish, German, Italian, Arabic, Portuguese
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover streaming video of opera, dance, and theatre productions, as well as concerts, arts documentaries, and master classes.
Content type: Videos
Subtitles/librettos available for some videos.
Language: English, Italian, German, French, other European languages

Find Films in the Library

The Claremont Colleges Library has over 5,500 films on DVD, which are all discoverable through the Library Search.

You can do an Advanced Search by title or keyword and limit to format such as DVD.
To see all 5,500+ films on DVD in the Claremont Colleges Library, use the Advanced Search to limit the format to DVD and the location to The Claremont Colleges: The complete list of films owned by the Library
Browse films by genre in the Advanced Search by searching by subject and limiting to The Claremont Colleges. Below, please find a suggested list of subject terms to try in your search:

Action and adventure films
Art
Ballet
Biographical films
Comedy films
Concerts
Crime
Documentary films
Drama
Ethnographic films
Fairy tales
Fantasy
Feature films
Film noir

Filmed dance
Filmed operas
History
Horror films
Musicals
Mystery
Nonfiction television programs
Romance
Science fiction films
Shakespeare
Television programs
Video art
War films
Western films

Asian film collection at Claremont

The Asian Library has more than 300 titles of films from China, Japan, and Korea. Please take a look of the archive lists below and check out whatever interests you at the library's main service desk.

What If We Don't Have a Film?

The Library Search will show you items from libraries around the world. If you find a film that we do not have at the Claremont , in many cases (but not all), we can borrow it from another library through our Resource Sharing service. To request an item through Resource Sharing, find the title in Library Search, then click on the "Request Item" button to submit a request:

If you have a suggestion or request for our collection, please e-mail the humanities librarians .