Research Guides: Asian Film Studies: Get Started

Welcome & Quick Start

Welcome! In this guide, you will find information on locating and checking out Asian films and other media from the library, finding scholarly sources in Claremont Colleges, and utilizing these sources for your research.

Ready to start your Asian film studies research? Start with these key resources:

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore a variety of videos across a breadth of subject areas, including international films, documentaries, archival films, educational titles, and performances.
Content type: Documentaries, performances, interviews, newsreels, primary sources
Includes the Mater Academic Collection and the World Cinema Collection.
Language: English, Arabic, Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Spanish
Independent World Cinema: Classic and Contemporary Film This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for finding streaming videos of independent U.S. and international documentary and feature films.
Content type: Documentary films, feature films
Coverage dates: 1915-present
Language: English, French, Russian, Spanish, German, Italian, Arabic, Portuguese
Fox Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Watch feature films from a variety of genres, such as dramas, comedies, science fiction, documentaries, and literary adaptions.
Content type: Videos
Language: English
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good starting point when researching topics that intersect with multiple disciplines.
Content type: Scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, trade journal articles
Coverage dates: 1887-present; varies by title
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover streaming video of opera, dance, and theatre productions, as well as concerts, arts documentaries, and master classes.
Content type: Videos
Subtitles/librettos available for some videos.
Language: English, Italian, German, French, other European languages

FAQ: Checking Out DVDs from the Library

You can check out almost all films from the Claremont Colleges Library for 7 days at a time, with no renewals.
The one exception is for films that are on reserve for courses, which have a 4-hour checkout period.
There is no limit on the number of films you can checkout.
Tips for finding DVDs in the library

Related Research Guides

Claremont Colleges Library Media Studies Research Guide
General information on media studies research, not language specific.
Asian Library
The Asian Library at the Claremont Colleges Library contains a wealth of primary sources in East Asian languages, such as Chinese, Japanese, and Korean rare books, archival collections, maps, and image collections.
Cultural Studies

Head, Asian Library

Xiuying Zou

Email Me

Contact:

Special Collections & Archives - The Claremont Colleges Library

909 607-4094

Subjects: Asian American Studies, Asian Studies, Chinese, Japanese, Languages & Literatures