Research Guides: Christianity: Find Secondary Sources

Find Articles

ATLA Religion Database with ATLA Serials PLUS This link opens in a new window
Major database for articles on religion and religious studies including Christianity.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, Korean, etc.
Keywords: American Theological Library Association Collection
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes multi-disciplinary journals for articles relating to Christianity.
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP
L'Annee Philologique This link opens in a new window
Features access to citations to articles in the areas of Greek and Roman history, early Christian texts, and archaeology.
International coverage
Language: English, French
Keywords: Greco-Roman world Annee Lannee Aph

Complete List of Claremont Colleges Databases
Databases arranged alphabetically by title and by subject. Good place to find other databases indexing articles that relate to interdisciplinary aspects of Christianity.

Anchor Bible Dictionary
- Print copies in Claremont Colleges Library and Denison..Covere people and places, versions of the Bible, methodologies of Bible scholarship, and historical and archaeological subjects, and includes illustrations, cross-references, and bibliographies

New Catholic Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Articles examine persons and subjects related to Catholicism and the humanities.
Search and indexing available for entries. Some entries contain images and short bibliographies.
Language: English
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae This link opens in a new window
Why search here? For detailed examination of Greek literature 8 BCE to the Fall of Byzantium in 1453 CE, explore full text with word analysis of individuals phrases and words (lemma).
Content type: Primary Sources with annotations
Special Note: Create a free user name and password to use the database.
Includes links to English translations.
Language: English, Ancient Greek, Medieval Greek

Claremont Coptic Encyclopedia
Reference tool of Coptic Studies covering Coptic language and literature.
Resource Pages for Biblical Study
Focuses on studies of the early Christian writings and their social world.
Virtual Religion Index - Christian Tradition
Links to Christianity-related websites.