Research Guides: Art Business: Finding Legal Information

Law Databases (via Claremont Colleges Library)

For access you will need to log in using your CGU Network login

Art Law & Cultural Property This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Gateway to the International Cultural Property Ownership and Export Legislation (ICPOEL) and Case Law Statutes (CLS), both of which offer information, legislation, and case law regarding the acquisition and ownership of art.
Content type: Legislation, litigated cases, out-of-court settlements
Special Note: IFAR will be shutting down operations and access in mid-2025.
In this platform there is also a catalogues raisonnés database, where researchers can look to see whether a catalogue for an artist has been published or is in preparation.
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Italian, Greek, etc.
Keywords: IFAR International Foundation for Art Research
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for legal research with access to articles from a large collection of law journals and legal sources.
Content type: Scholarly articles, government reports, primary sources, case studies
Coverage dates: 1776-present
HeinOnline includes access to law journals (back to the 19th century), international and US treaties (back to 1776), out-of-copyright legal classics, the federal register (back to 1936), and Supreme Court slip opinions from 2002. All material is fully searchable and in PDF format, including all charts, graphs, pictures, photographs, and footnotes.
Language: English
Keywords: Hein Online
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for comprehensive coverage of news and current events, government, business, medical, and legal topics, as well as general reference information.
Content type: Newspaper articles, trade journal articles, broadcast transcripts, financial reports, federal and state case law, medical abstracts, corporate profiles
Coverage dates: 1980-present
Language: English, Spanish, French, Dutch, German, Portuguese
Keywords: Lexis Nexis
Westlaw Campus This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for legal research with access to federal and state cases, statutes (laws), court rules, and regulations as well as federal administrative materials and U.S. Supreme Court briefs.
Content type: Primary sources, government reports, court case documents, statutes, briefs, reference materials, newspaper reports, data
Coverage dates: 1945-present
Language: English
Keywords: West law Thomson Reuters