Research Guides: Dance: Find Secondary Sources

Find Articles

Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry including dance.
Some journals are indexed as far back as 1864, but the majority of citations date from 1998 or later.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, etc.
Keywords: International Index to the Performing Arts IIPA
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Good for multi-disciplinary aspects of dance.
Language: English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Turkish, French, Chinese, Arabic etc.
Keywords: ASP

Complete List of Claremont Colleges Library Databases
Provides alphabetical title and subject access to all the Claremont databases. Check for other related subject areas if your topic is interdisciplinary.

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
Articles address cultural context of dance, rituals, and ceremonies.
Encyclopedia volumes organized by geographic area. Includes streaming access to companion CDs for each volume.
Language: English
International Encyclopedia of Dance This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find encyclopedia articles on a variety of dance-related topics, including dance forms, performers, choreographers, and performances.
Content type: Reference materials, encyclopedia articles, bibliographies, images
Entries arranged alphabetically, with search function available.
Language: English
Oxford Dictionary of Dance This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find short definitions for dance-related terminology, forms and styles, performers, composers, and choreographers.
Content type: Reference materials
Coverage dates: 2010
Language: English

American Ballet Theatre: Ballet Dictionary
Defines and pronounces terms from the Technical Manual and Dictionary of Classical Ballet.

Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
For specialized research you may want to check literature reviews in dissertations. This is the primary index to 1.6 million dissertations and masters theses from academic institutions in the US, Canada, Great Britain, and Europe.
Most coverage comes from North American institutions. Many are full-text. Records show cited references, other publications with shared references, and later publications citing the work.
Language: English, Turkish, Chinese, French, Spanish, additional European languages
Keywords: Digital dissertation dissert thesis
Theses and Dissertations from the Claremont Colleges This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find theses and dissertations from Claremont Colleges students.
Content type: Dissertations and theses
Some theses/dissertations are open and available for anyone to read, while others have embargoed access to the full text or are only available on a campus IP range.
Language: English