Why use handbooks?
Handbooks are excellent sources to find overviews of topics, to begin a literature search, or to find discussions of theories and landmark research. They provide summaries and evaluations, and are often contributed to by recognized experts. They will be more comprehensive than a course textbook, and will contain important lists of references.
A Handbook of Practicing Anthropology
An essential career-planning resource, A Handbook of Practicing Anthropology presents a comprehensive account of contemporary anthropological practice written primarily by anthropological practitioners Engagingly written and instructive accounts of practice by anthropological professionals working in corporations, governmental, entrepreneurial, and educational settings Provides essential guidance on applying anthropological principles on the job: what works well and what must be learned Emphasizes the value of collaboration, teamwork, and continuous learning as key elements to success in non-academic careers Highlights the range of successful career options for practitioners , describes significant sectors of professional activity, and discusses key issues, concerns, and controversies in the field Chapters examine key practice sectors such as freelancing, managing a consulting firm, working for government, non-profits, and corporations, and the domains of health, industry, education, international development, and the military
The Cambridge handbook for the anthropology of gender and sexuality by 
Handbook of Sociocultural Anthropology
The Handbook of Sociocultural Anthropology presents a state of the art overview of the subject - its methodologies, current debates, history and future. It provides the ultimate source of authoritative, critical descriptions of all the key aspects of the discipline as well as a consideration of the general state of the discipline at a time when there is notable uncertainty about its foundations, composition and direction. Divided into five core sections, the Handbook: examines the changing theoretical and analytical orientations that have led to new ways of carrying out research; presents an analysis of the traditional historical core and how the discipline has changed since 1980; considers the ethnographic regions where work has had the greatest impact on anthropology as a whole; outlines the people and institutions that are the context in which the discipline operates, covering topics from research funding to professional ethics.Bringing together leading international scholars, the Handbook provides a guide to the latest research in social and cultural anthropology. Presenting a systematic overview - and offering a wide range of examples, insights and analysis - it is an invaluable resource for researchers and students in anthropology as well as cultural and social geography, cultural studies and sociology.
Handbook of Ethnography
`I wish the Handbook of Ethnography had been available to me as a fledgling ethnographer. I would recommend it for any graduate student who contemplates a career in the field. Likewise for experienced ethnographers who would like the equivalent of a world atlas to help pinpoint their own locations in the field, the Handbook of Ethnography is it' - Journal of Contemporary Ethnography `This wonderful Handbook establishes the central, and complex place ethnography now occupies in the human disciplines. All future work will begin here' - Norman K Denzin, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign `A marvellous achievement! The Handbook has all the marks of a winner - compelling writing, comprehensive coverage and very useful discussions. This is a real benchmark for ethnography. It will set the background for debate and point to new directions for years to come. My graduate students will love it' - Jaber F Gubrium, University of Florida, Gainesville `The Handbook of Ethnography compiles invaluable, original, critical essays on ethnographic work, earning it a place on everyone's must-have bookshelf' - Virginia Olesen, University of California, San Francisco `The Handbook is a remarkable synthesis of existing thinking in and around ethnography' - Forum for Qualitative Social Research - follow the link below to read the complete review `No self-respecting qualitative researcher should be without Paul Atkinson (et al's) handbook on ethnography. This really is encyclopaedic in concept and scope. Many "big names" in the field have contributed so this has to be the starting point for anyone looking to understand the field in substantive topic, theoretical tradition and methodology. The chapters on visual ethnography and semiotics expand the field marvellously, while those on field notes and on ethics are accomplished surveys of the field' - SRA News Ethnography is one of the chief research methods in sociology, anthropology and other cognate disciplines in the social sciences. This Handbook provides an unparalleled, critical guide to its principles and practice. The volume is organized into three sections. The first systematically locates ethnography firmly in its relevant historical and intellectual contexts. The roots of ethnography are pinpointed and the pattern of its development is demonstrated. The second section examines the contribution of ethnography to major fields of substantive research. The impact and strengths and weaknesses of ethnographic method are dealt with authoritatively and accessibly. The third section moves on to examine key debates and issues in ethnography, from the conduct of research through to contemporary arguments. The result is a landmark work in the field, which draws on the expertise of an internationally renowned group of interdisicplinary scholars. The Handbook of Ethnography provides readers with a one-stop critical guide to the past, present and future of ethnography. It will quickly establish itself as the ethnographer's bible.
What is Ethnography?
"Ethnography is the art and science of describing a group or culture. The description may be of a small tribal group in an exotic land or a classroom in middle-class suburbia." Fetterman, David M. Ethnography: Step by Step. Honnold 4th floor GN345 .F47 1998
Mead's Coming of Age in Samoa is an example of a traditional ethnography. In contemporary urban anthropology ethnographies might be of immigrant groups, members of specific residential areas, or participants in a specific organization, business, or other type of group.
If you have no specific group or culture in mind, search by SUBJECT Ethnology. (Ethnography is more appropriate as a keyword search rather than a subject/tag search. You can do a SUBJECT search for Ethnography methodology; however, it will return some but far fewer ethnology results.) There are subdivisions by country and area. Browse and pick an area of interest to you.
If you have picked a culture, search by SUBJECT Ethnology (country), for example, Ethnology Africa or Ethnology United States. You can also search by KEYWORD Ethnology and (group name) for example Ethnology Maya or Ethnology Pueblo.
Try using the SUBJECT search (Country) Social life and customs, for example China Social Life and customs or Peru Social Life and customs. Not all of these may be ethnographies, some may be guidebooks or travel memoirs. Check the credentials of the author and look for the word ethnographic or ethnography when the author introduces their research. When in doubt, check with your professor about whether a specific source meets their requirements for your research.
You can use Resource Sharing to request books beyond what is available in our library.
