Research Guides: Anthropology: Finding Secondary Sources

Scholarly Databases

Below are just a few selected databases for topics in Anthropology. Use the Get This Item button to link to full text or to request a PDF through Resource Sharing/Inter-library Loans

Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Good for finding scholarly articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology from two major disciplinary databases, Anthropological Index Online and Anthropological Literature.
Content type: Scholarly articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, obituaries
Coverage dates: 1700s- present
Language: English, German, French, Spanish, Italian, etc.
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Main database for articles published in all of the American Anthropological Association journals and publications.
Content type: Scholarly articles, bulletins, monographs, newsletters
Some journals and publications may not allow access to current content or are archived and not actively publishing.
Language: English
Keywords: Anthro Source AAA
Dyabola This link opens in a new window
Why search here? The main place for finding archaeological scholarship, including sources about the ancient and classical worlds.
Content type: Citations of scholarly sources
Coverage dates: 1956-present
Complex platform, please reach out to librarian for additional assistance.
Language: English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, etc
Keywords: Projekt
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Find scholarly sources on the study of language, including phonetics, morphology, syntax and semantics, and anthropological linguistics.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, books, book chapters, dissertations
Coverage dates: 1973-present
Language: English, French, German, Spanish, Portuguese, Russian, Italian, etc.
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for articles discussing applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, with an emphasis on sociology, social work, psychology, and political science.
Content type: Scholarly articles, trade journal articles, conference proceedings
Coverage dates: 1983-present
Language: English

Explore Journal Articles in BrowZine

Call Numbers and Locating Anthropology Books in the Library

Anthropology related books have the following call numbers, most of which are located on the 4th Floor of Honnold.

GN 1-890 Anthropology (General)
GN 49-298 Physical anthropology. Somatology
GN 51-59 Anthropometry
GN 62.8-265 Human variation Including growth, physical form, skeleton, nervous system, skin, etc.
GN 269-279 Race (General)
GN 280.7 Human as an animal. Simian traits versus human traits
GN 281-289 Human evolution
GN 282-286.7 . Human paleontology
GN 296-296.5 Medical anthropology
GN 301-674 Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology
GN 357-367 Culture and cultural processes Including social change, structuralism, diffusion, etc.
GN 378-396 Collected ethnographies
GN 397-397.7 Applied anthropology
GN 406-517 Cultural traits, customs, and institutions
GN 406-442 Technology. Material culture Including food, shelter, fire, tools, etc.
GN 448-450.8 Economic organization. Economic anthropology
GN 451-477.7 Intellectual life Including communication, recreation, philosophy, religion, knowledge, etc.
GN 478-491.7 Social organization
GN 492-495.2 Political organization. Political anthropology
GN 495.4-498 Societal groups, ethnocentrism, diplomacy, warfare, etc.
GN 502-517 Psychological anthropology
GN 537-674 Ethnic groups and races
GN 550-674 By region or country
GN 700-890 Prehistoric archeology