Research Guides: Africana Studies: Finding Sources

Scholarly Databases

Below are just a few selected databases for topics in Africana Studies. Use the Get This Item button to link to full text or to request a PDF through Resource Sharing/ILL.

America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Useful for anthropological and historical research concerning the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, conference proceedings, books
Coverage dates: 1914-present
Language: English, French, Russian, German, Spanish, etc.
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore scholarly journals, essays, and primary sources that provide an introduction to the major topics and figures in Black Studies.
Content type: Primary sources, scholarly articles, newspaper articles, magazine articles, reference materials, images, indexes
Coverage dates: 1893-present
Includes full-text of The Chicago Defender (1910-1975), the online index to Black Literature (1827-1940), the Black Studies Periodicals Database, and the content from the African American Biographical Database.
Language: English
Keywords: BSC
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations with abstracts for journals and documents in the field of education. Includes program descriptions, research and development reports, and unpublished documents. Covers education and related fields such as counseling, psychology, and the social sciences.
Allows for filtering by education level and intended audience (e.g. administrators, teachers, policymakers, etc).
Language: English
Keywords: Education Resources Information Center
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover scholarly articles and research in psychology and behavioral and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, books
Coverage dates: 1600s-present
One great feature is the ability to limit by methodology.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
Keywords: APA Psyc Info
Social Sciences Full Text This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Search here for articles discussing applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, with an emphasis on sociology, social work, psychology, and political science.
Content type: Scholarly articles, trade journal articles, conference proceedings
Coverage dates: 1983-present
Language: English
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Database for articles in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Language: English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, German

Search for Books in Library Search

Use Basic Search to	Use Advanced Search to
look up books/materials by: keyword title author subject (This works best if you have a citation and want to see if the Libraries own it.)	look up material by: Location (Reference? Special Collections? Denison Library? Etc.) Format (Book vs Article vs CD vs DVD, etc.) Multiple Subjects or Keywords (search for "African Americans" AND "educat*") and much more!

Use Basic Search to

Use Advanced Search to

look up books/materials by:

keyword
title
author
subject

(This works best if you have a citation and want to see if the Libraries own it.)

look up material by:

Location (Reference? Special Collections? Denison Library? Etc.)
Format (Book vs Article vs CD vs DVD, etc.)
Multiple Subjects or Keywords (search for "African Americans" AND "educat*")
and much more!