Honnold/Mudd and Denison Special Collections are treasure houses of primary historical materials for all types of history and almost all periods. Please visit our website to register as a reader and request items.
University of California freely available digitized archive of California History. Includes all types of primary source materials including images. This is an example of a collection that is part of the Online Archive of California.
The Freedom Archives contains over 10,000 hours of audio and video tapes which date from the late-1960s to the mid-90s and chronicle the progressive history of the Bay Area, the United States, and international movements.
"American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience."
"The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses."
Primary Sources Databases
Below is a selected list of our primary source databases. For more primary source databases the Claremont Colleges Library subscribes to, go to this list of databases.
Digitized papers related to the NAACP in 6 modules: 1) : Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; 2) Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; 3) Special Subjects; 4) Major Campaigns: Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; 5) Major Campaigns: Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; 6) Major Campaigns: Legal Department Files
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Stories and folklore from Africa and the African Diaspora. Over 11,700 short stories and folktales ranging from oral traditions to contemporary tales of modern life. Includes complete runs of selected literary magazines such as Kyk-Over-Al and The Beacon.
Full text of over 1,700 plays written from the mid-1800s - present by over 200 playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
Includes more than 100,000 pages of poems, drama, novels, stories and related material produced in the region during the 19th and 20th centuries.. Features works in English, Spanish, French, and Dutch as well as various Creole languages. Translations of major works, dictionaries, and reference materials are included.
Poetry written by the most important and influential Black American poets.
Coverage begins with the key writers of the early decades, continues with major figures of the Harlem Renaissance, the Black Arts movement of the 1960s, and concludes with a considerable body of writing of the 1980s and 1990s.
Articles from major Black newspapers published in the U.S during the 19th century.
Includes: Freedom's Journal, The Colored American, The North Star, The National Era, Provincial Freeman, Frederick Douglass Paper, The Christian Recorder, Freedmen's Record, and The Negro Business League Herald. Coverage 1827-1909.
Contains: Atlanta Daily World, (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American, (1893-1988); Chicago Defender, (1909-1975); Cleveland Call and Post, (1934-1991); Los Angeles Sentinel, (1934-2005); New York Amsterdam News, (1922-1993); Norfolk Journal and Guide, (1916-2003); Philadelphia Tribune, (1912-2001); and Pittsburgh Courier, (1911-2002).
Contains: Atlanta Daily World, (1931-2003); Baltimore Afro-American, (1893-1988); Boston Globe (1872-1986); Chicago Defender, (1909-1975); Chinese Newspaper Collection (1832-1953); Cleveland Call and Post, (1934-1991); The Globe & Mail (1844-2014); The Guardian & The Observer (1791-2003); Korea Times (1956-2016); Los Angeles Sentinel, (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times, (1881-1993); New York Amsterdam News, (1922-1993); New York Times, (1851-2013); Norfolk Journal and Guide, (1916-2003); Philadelphia Tribune, (1912-2001); Pittsburgh Courier, (1911-2002); and the San Francisco Chronicle, (1865-1922). South China Morning Post (1903-1998); Times of India (1838-2008)
Locating Other Primary Sources for Africana Studies
Michigan State University hosts this online archive that preserves and makes available the records of activism in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social
injustice from the 1950s through the 1990s.
From the San Francisco Bay Area Television Archive. Local newsfilm and privately produced footage relating mainly - but not exclusively - to the Black Panther Party's Oakland Chapter, from the 1960s and 1970s.
A travel guide series published from 1936 to 1964 by Victor H. Green. It was intended to provide African American motorists and tourists with the information necessary to board, dine, and sight-see comfortably and safely during the era of segregation.