/*Font style and formatting for LibGuides*/ Skip to Main Content

Science, Technology, & Society (STS)

Finding Science Primary Sources

Science primary sources:

report on the results of original research and/or findings/data/results of experiments or other research studies
are generally articles published in peer-reviewed journals

Use a database below that corresponds to the discipline (psychology, medicine, etc) that is relevant to your project.

Pay attention to the dates covered. Some are historical and others focus on current research.

Top 3 Recommended Sources for Finding Science Primary Sources

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover scholarly articles and research in psychology and behavioral and social sciences.
Content type: Scholarly articles, magazine articles, dissertations, books
Coverage dates: 1600s-present
One great feature is the ability to limit by methodology.
Language: English, German, French, Spanish
Keywords: APA Psyc Info
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Discover biomedical and life sciences research using this search tool run by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, clinical trials, meta-anlayses, systematic reviews, books
Includes advanced search tools such as Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) and the Clinical Queries feature. Personalized MyNCBI account features, such as email alerts, are only available by leaving the Library's instance of PubMed and accessing the resource through the open web site (pubmed.gov).
Language: English
Keywords: Pub Med

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Great for discovering scholarly research across a wide array of subject areas, primarily published in high-impact (highly cited) journals in the physical and life sciences, health sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles, conference proceedings, book chapters
Coverage dates: 1965-present
Easily explore an article bibliography, as well as sources that have cited the article since its publication, via the Citation Network feature. Create a free personal account to keep a comprehensive search history, create search alerts and citation alerts. Additional features related to author and journal profiles are available.
Language: English, Russian, French, German, Chinese, Spanish, Japanese, Portuguese, etc.
Text Mining: Allowed; only through Clarivate APIs
Keywords: Social Science Citation Index Science Citation Index Arts and Humanities Citation Index Conference Proceedings Citation Index Emerging Sources Citation Index WoS Knowledge

Important Scientific Scholarly Journals

Lancet
Major British Medical Journal
online full text from 1826-1922
Nature
1869-present
use "Archive" link to see older issues
Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences
1915-present
Science
1880-2012

Historical Medical and Scientific Books and Letters

The Medical Heritage Library via Internet Archive
49,000+ medical texts from some of the world's leading medical libraries - most books are pre-1923
University of Toronto - Gerstein Science Information Centre on Internet Archive
20,000+ books on Science and Medicine - - most books are pre-1923
Darwin Correspondence Project
read and search the full texts of more than 7,500 of Charles Darwin’s letters
British Women's Letters and Diaries
includes Mary Somerville's diaries/correspondence (use advanced search to locate these)

: Aug 19, 2024 5:30 PM
URL: https://libguides.libraries.claremont.edu/STS
Print Page

Subjects: Science, Technology, & Society