Library open only to current Claremont Colleges students, faculty, and staff: Tuesday, December 6 - Thursday, December 15. Exceptions include those visiting Bookstore, Cafe, and Special Collections Appointments. More info on Blackout Dates for Community Access.
Scholarly Resources in Medieval and Renaissance Studies
When available in a database, use the green button to determine whether the libraries have an article or book or to link to Interlibary Loan (Illiad) to request materials not at the Libraries.
The main scholarly index for studies of the Middle Ages. Covers publications in over 30 languages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400–1500. To enter, click the "Enter databases" button, then the database's "Go" button. N.B. This database does not have the green "Get This Item" button. Please check the Blais Library catalog under journal or book title to see whether The Libraries have an item.
Disciplinary areas include: Classics, English Language and Literature, History and Archaeology, Theology and Philosophy, Medieval European Languages and Literatures, Arabic and Islamic Studies, Art History, Music, and Performance Arts
Major interdisciplinary source for scholarly materials about the Middle Ages and Renaissance. Stronger for the Renaissance than the Middle Ages. Lists books and journals published since 1859 to present.
Includes an online version of the Iter Italicum, Paul Oskar Kristaller's catalog of Renaissance Humanistic Manuscripts.
Go to "Search a database" and then "connect to Iter Bibliography"
N.B. This database does not have the green "Get This Item" button. Please check the Blais Library catalog under journal or book title to see whether The Libraries have an item.
Also includes citations for essays in books (e.g. conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues) and discographies.
Why search here? The main international source for finding abstracts of scholarly articles and books about Greek and Roman literature, philosophy and history.
Content type: Abstracts of scholarly articles and books
Main index for archaeology, including so-called pre-history, the ancient, and classical worlds. The electronic version of the Archaologische Bibliographie.Click the "IP-Access" checkbox, then choose "Realkatalog DAI Rom." Provides access to citations of articles from publications covering archaeology, paleolithic culture and so-called "prehistory"; culture, art and architecture of the ancient world; and the early middle ages.1995- current (1950-present in print). N.B. This database does not have the green "Get This Item" button. Please check the Blais Library catalog under journal or book title to see whether The Libraries have an item.
Complex platform, please reach out to librarian for additional assistance.
button to determine whether the libraries have an article or book or to link to Interlibary Loan (Illiad) to request materials not at the Libraries.