Research Guides: Russian Language & Literature: Historical Primary Sources and Russian Literature

Primary Russian Texts

Google Books Advanced Search
You can limit to French language under the drop down menu for "pages written in." Please note: some free full text, some records with a preview of full text, some merely citations. Look up in Library Search for Claremont availability.
Project Gutenberg Russian Language Books
Conradish Net: Russian Literature
Russian Literature and Folklore
Russian Library of Classics
Russian Fiction and Poetry

Wikipedia list of Russian Writers

Finding Russian Sources at the Library

Library Search
The Library Search can also be used to find literature and historical sources in Russian or in translation. Use the "Language" and "Location" drop-down menus to limit to language or to a specific location such as Special Collections.

You can browse Russian literature in Honnold-Mudd Multi-Tier Stacks PQ1-PQ3999, with the following breakdown for individual authors and eras:

PG2900-3190 History and criticism

PG2900-2998 General

PG3001-3026 Special periods

PG3041-3065 Poetry

PG3071-3089 Drama

PG3091-3099 Prose

PG(3100)-(3155) Folk literature

(Including texts)

PG3199-3299 Collections

PG3199-3205 General

PG(3211)-3219 Translations

PG3223-3229.2 Special periods

PG3230-3238 Poetry

PG3240-3255 Drama

PG3260-3299 Prose

PG3300-3493.96 Individual authors and works

PG3300-3308 Early to 1700

PG3310-3319 18th century

PG3312 Derzhavin

PG3314 Karamzin

PG3316 Lomonosov

PG3318 Sumarokov

PG3320-3447 1800-1870

PG3325-3328 Dostoyevsky

PG3332-3335 Gogol'

PG3340-3359 Pushkin

PG3365-3417 Tolstoi

PG3420-3445 Turgenev

PG3450-3470 1870-1917

PG3452 Andreev

PG3455-3458 Chekhov

PG3462-3465 Gorky

PG3475-3476 1917-1960

PG3477-3490 1961-2000

PG3491.2-3493.96 2001

PG3500-3505 Provincial, local, etc.

PG3515-3550 Outside the Russian

Special Collections at The Claremont Colleges Library
Special Collections is a treasure trove of primary sources covering a wide range of formats and time periods. Visit the Special Collections homepage to search and discover materials. Contact Special Collections for additional guidance.

Claremont Colleges Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Why search here? Explore the Library's digitized archive of material representing over 70 collections of historical and visual resources created both by and for The Claremont Colleges community.
Content type: Primary sources, images, artworks, photos, videos, rare books
Language: English

Twentieth Century Posters Collection (CCDL)
Digitized collection of 20th century political posters from Special Collections at The Claremont Colleges Library. Includes post WWII Soviet posters.